Why I became a teacher and how Steemit changed my life!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Image source

Life works in mysterious ways. When we grow up we have all these hopes and dreams of what we want to achieve in life. The fact is that we have absolutely NO control about what happens in our lives.  I have always believed that we are exactly where we are supposed to be in life and it doesn't matter how hard we try to change things, things ALWAYS work out the way they are supposed to.  

I grew up in a school environment.  My dad was a schoolteacher and later became a principal, so we were used to being at school. He used to be a very dedicated teacher and I believe that he was the best principal ever.  He was involved with his teachers and he was involved with the kids.  You would never find him in his office because he was always somewhere in a class or outside on the playground.   

I followed in my dad's footsteps and also became a teacher.  

To become a teacher was one of the MOST eye-opening experiences in my life. Since that very first day, I knew that I was in the right place. It was hard in the beginning to see myself as a teacher, but as time went on, I gradually got used to the idea of seeing myself in the shoes of an educator.  It was now up to me to change the lives of these kids. I was now responsible for these kids.  

I am a very open minded person, and therefore I am very open minded teacher.  I learned to read these kids mind's without them even saying anything.  I got to know my kids , and I became very good and seeking out the lost kids...you know there are many of those everywhere, and I believe with a little bit of help and understanding these kids can achieve great things.  

I always had a teacher's pet, and it was usually the naughtiest one in the class. I will never forget one little girl who came into my class, and every time I turned my back towards the board, she would slip in under my table. She would sit there for the whole period and do her work under my table.  If she was comfortable writing on the floor so let it be. 

Some teachers freaked out because she misbehaved but in my opinion I did not have any issues with her behavior. What does it really matter if you sit at a table or on the floor, as long as the work is done!  

I have build up great relationships with many of my students and even today, still have contact with MANY of them. Some of them are in great professions now, and the mere fact that I had a little bit of influence over their lives and the way they turned out, gives me great satisfaction.  

    

Image source

I believe that if I stand in front of the class I am responsible for each and every one of these students. I become their mother and like in the picture above I have been called MOM many times by accident, but I don't mind.....because if their own mother is not there then I am actually their mom.  

I have also seen very sad things during my teaching career that I will write about in later posts, but honestly to be a teacher is one of the most rewarding and satisfying careers that anyone can have.  I can't see myself doing anything else, although I believe that if you are a teacher you can actually be anything else too...

A teacher is a combined profession that consists of all of the following.

  • Nursing
  • Psychology
  • Psychiatry(sometimes to our co-workers)
  • Social worker 
  • Parent
  • Accountant ( To try and survive on small salaries)

But all of the above doesn't matter to me.  I did not become a teacher to become rich (although I believe that we deserve double our salaries) I became a teacher to help change the world.  Even if I only have the opportunity to touch a few lives in my lifetime, I know that I have made a difference in this world.  

Then came Steemit! 


Steemit has given me the opportunity to send my son to university.  Up to now, I have used only some of my Steempower as well as my SBD payouts to send my son to study.  Coincidental- he is also studying to become a teacher and you can support him on his own account @brotherbear

What a wonderful opportunity is this to say that I have not had to make ONE single loan and that all his fees are paid up to date with the help of my income on steemit! I will be forever grateful for @ned and @dan who came up with this extremely great concept to create this platform.  


We have recently opened up a second account called @steemiteducation. This account was created solely for the promotion of education on the steemit platform. I contacted more educators on the platform and they agreed to help. We are gradually building up this account but we do need your support.   

If you are a teacher and you need to create a second income, you now have the opportunity to take part in this wonderful experiment.  All you have to do is to write educational content or create a post that can be used as a educational resource that can be used in a classroom.  You just use the steemiteducation tag and paste the link in one of our daily posts and we will make sure to resteem your post for more exposure. 

If you enjoy my content please follow me 

Sort:  

Thx for sharing

nice post follow me and i will upvote you and you same will do please...

Great post!

I have always believed that we are exactly where we are supposed to be in life and it doesn't matter how hard we try to change things, things ALWAYS work out the way they are supposed to.

True. We try to change ourselves for others, but we become what we really think what we must become.

If she was comfortable writing on the floor so let it be.

That's a forward way of thinking and shows that you really understand kids.

I have build up great relationships with many of my students and even today, still have contact with MANY of them.

That is the mark of a true teacher - being in touch with your students.

A teacher is a combined profession that consists of all of the following.

Though most teachers know this, rarely do they acknowledge it. By mentioning it here you have confirmed that you have always been accountable for your profession.

Steemit has given me the opportunity to send my son to university.

That is wonderful to hear - it is an inspiration for newcomers.

Upvoted and following you as well as steemiteducation. I've just looked at brotherbear's profile an followed him too, on your recommendation.

Thank you for this wonderful comment. I really appreciate your effort. Thank you for your support! :)

I wish all teachers were like you! I agree, good teachers should be paid double their salaries. There should also be more filtering of the bad ones.

OH there are definitely people that do NOT belong in this profession. You can see them from a mile!

Upvoted and RESTEEMED!

Thank you I really appreciate it.

We definitely need more teachers like you in our educational system. Thank you for your great work.

Thank you @cudavenguen! I appreciate your comment.

wow!!! this is really an eye opner... thanks for the revelation. let me get to serious work, and hopefuly I can start paying my bills thru steemits benevolence...

Just don't give up. Every little bit helps. If you are determined you can do anything. Just post daily, and communicate. People on this platform is wonderful and this is one community that can stand together! Just keep on steeming!

Teacher is a wonderful and necessary profession!
You have good ideas!

Thank you. Yip, without teacher no one would become anything...lol!

Excellent post giantbear!
I identify with you because i am also an educator. I wish you success in all you want

You are indeed an amazing teacher. And, I agree. Being a teacher is a wonderful while equally stressful situation. You get to enjoy the joy of a child learning and understanding something through your continuing efforts. Those "ahhhhh, I get" moments are the best. While, also dealing with varying personalities that range from the extremely studious to the I don't care students. It's a roller coaster ride. A fun one.

I agree with you. I was a teacher when I started on Steemit. I just left my position in June. And I made more money last July on Steemit than I made as a teacher.

Which was great and sad all at the same time.

But yes, Steemit is a great income source.

I thought the same thing...it is sad that we have to create a source of income, but it is great to have the opportunity. Why did you leave teaching?

Without a long blog post, there's a phrase I've read recently.

"People don't leave jobs, they leave bosses."

I left my boss-principal.

I absolutely hear you. I once had a principal that absolutely HATED me. but that is absolutely another story...it is a pity that people have to behave and act like that towards others. Gosh if I was a principal or a "boss" I would at least support my staff wholeheartedly to make work better for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01