Why algebra is important!

Image source

In school, students are often forced into a direction and forced to learn material that they do not find interesting. Most often, these students get totally bored and then lose interest in that specific subject. Gosh, sometimes even I find it boring. If you teach a specific subject like Mathematics, and do the same topics every year (but with different students) it can become somewhat of a ritual, and we then don't realize that the lesson is actually boring. 

If a student is bored in class, it means that his mind wanders off, and you are most likely teaching yourself, because I can promise you that the student's minds are far away from the classroom.  

I find it exactly the same when I start difficult topics in class.  Specifically Algebra.... and  I can honestly say that I have had this specific question every single time when I start with the first lesson in Algebra.  

"Where will I ever use this information again in real life?"


Image source

The fact is that we don't realize where we use certain skills obtained in school in real life.  

Why is Algebra important?


Algebra for example teaches us quite a variety of skills which we use in our daily lives and we often don't realize this.   

When we learn Algebra we learn how to 

  • Think critically
  • Analyze information
  • Interpret information
  • Reason abstractly
  • Persevere
  • Plan ahead
  • Learn from mistakes
  • Apply prior knowledge
  • Envision solutions
  • Be precise
  • Justify
  • Change the way we think

I am sure that I can still add a few other skills that we learn from Algebra but these skills are already quite a few useful skills that we use in our everyday lives.  

To be innovative and exciting, we as teachers have to find the most interesting way to teach the "boring" and difficult work to our students. This is not always an easy task. Unfortunately we are forced to teach according to a curriculum and we often have to work faster to get through the whole curriculum.  

I stopped rushing long ago.  I would spend a week on one topic in class just as long as everybody understands the specific content.  

What do you do to make the lessons more interesting and how do you handle the "boring" stuff?

Sort:  

Another reason: Algebra enables you to do more interesting math like calculus, linear algebra or stochastics.

Very good post because I also hear that Why must we do this over and over again. But it is not only the info that they need to know, it is like you say all the other things they can learn to do because of it.

When the boring stuff is connected to practical applications, it is easier to teach it. Also, making the exercise more concrete could help. In a few words, I would say that one should more a little bit away from the abstract fashion and it could work better.

Thank you for writing friend @giantbear...
I'm new in steemit ...
And when I read this article.
I was thinking, it turns out to play steemit not just post the posts and show off photos like in instagram account, facebook, and so forth.
But steemit is a blog that I feel a lot of benefits, a lot of knowledge, success continues friends, keep on working and give benefit for everyone, best regards @quencore.
I am looking forward to your next posting.

Hi there @quencore I appreciate your comment. You are welcome to ask for guidance at any time. In steemit you are free to do whatever you want. Steemit is very educational. Good luck on your journey. Enjoy!

Algebra is the key to almost any math related careers. With a strong foundation in Algebra, students can succeed in any math related classes.

Death doesn't frighten me now I can think peacefully of ending a long life.

Math is like a language. Algebra is the foundation before you can move on to the (real-world/industrial) applications.

This sums it up nicely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46