E-BOOKS VERSUS PRINTED BOOKS

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

The publishers of the printed book say South Africans must not worry that e-books will replace the printed version. In the USA, e-book versions have started outselling printed versions by 105 from every 100. Local publishers are not concerned, however, as they say, it will take some time for the trend to pick up in South Africa. Despite this positive statement, a website manager of a major South African online bookseller said that while they started selling e-books comprised roughly 10% of their book sales in December that year.

Printed books versus e-books


Image credit

People are reading e-books at book clubs

The online manager of e-books said: 'Our high-end readers from our book clubs are now reading e-books.'
One sales director of a publishing house said that for publishers, e-books does present a challenge, but not one that is insurmountable.


Image credit

Paperbacks threatened the hardcover book

There was a similar concern when paperback books first appear because it was seen as a challenge to hardcovers. It simply meant a different distribution model.
Many thought the arrival of the Kindle was the end of the era for the printed book, but they were very wrong. Buying the printed books is back in fashion.

Printed books are back again


Image credit

Technology had to back down

The demise of the e-books was 'one of the rare examples where groundbreaking technology ends up being supplanted by its predecessor". reported the Guardian. The New York Times reported that much of the excitement around e-books had disappeared. Apparently, during the first half of 2015, sales fell by 10%, the printed books were back in fashion and popularity again. In the UK, Waterstones has stopped selling Kindles in most of their 280 bookstores, because the "sales of Kindles continue to be pitiful" according to MD James Daunt.

The feel of a book

Some people refuse to read the e-books and only read the paper edition. Some say the hunt for a printed book is much more exciting than downloading the e-book.

Who will win?


Image credit

please follow me @frieda

Sort:  

Most readers gather that the pleasure of reading paper is not matched by pleasure, and I am one of them

Thank you for your comment.

I've always enjoyed reading books, in any kind of style and format, aslong as they were there, in my hands to hold. I'm getting a headache while reading from a tablet or so and I honestly don't think I'd ever get used to reading e-books. At least in Denmark where I live there are still plenty of normal books to be had but I do fear the day that the electronic version takes over.

Thank you for your reply. The only problem with printed books, it takes up a lot of space and it is hard to get rid of any book!

I think reading a paper book is more satisfying and exciting, because the electronic books in my opinion do not have the same emotion and plot

I don't have any experience with an e-book, but know that I will not exchange the printed book for a Kindle. I agree with the 'emotion and plot' effect of the printed book!
Thank you for your reply.

I do prefer the e-book, specially on a kindle. Now I read more books than never before and I have enough space to store an entire library on it. I read also from physical books, but every time I do it, I wish I had them on my kindle.

My daughter has a kindle and she loves it, in fact, she is reading more now than before, which is the most important! Thank you for your comment.

You should try it too! It is a really good reading experience! You're welcome! Thank you for sharing this awesome post!

Thank you for selecting my post.

Well due to trend of social media, book reading habit have been compromised on large scale. Still, true book lovers will always go for printed book. Reading some stuff online for our assignments or stuff like news is different as news paper's life is just a day long so I guess it's wiser not to invest in paper. But as far as reading for pleasure or Mental peace is concerned, such reading can't be enjoyed on e book, for that we definitely would love to have paper book with a cup of coffee, so this way in my opinion e booking is never gonna compete classic way of reading and people's love for paper book will always win :)
I myself am a passionate reader, nd experienced both types of readings, paper book is just therapeutic!!!

I agree with the reading of newspapers online. You get to read the relevant news which is important. I have never tried a kindle, but personally, I know that I will always prefer the printed book. I like to collect them and have quite a number of books. I have tried to get rid of some of them, but keeps on bringing them back into the house from the garage! Thank you for your comment.

As you commented yourself there are things you can do online (catch up on the news) and things you can't (collect books! well, you can buy them online, of course - but I don't get these libraries you might want to comprise online, because I believe in BODIES of literature...or in my case, books for friends around me in my home).

I think science is catching up to my more esoteric views on why paper and digital sources are not the same. Especially when it comes to educating children. There seems to be less engagement, and therefore poorer retention. One glosses over a screen more easily, whereas the paper page might still invite a finger to follow the words. There is still something organic about the bound book which fits the organic nature of language and prevents it turning into a kind of semaphore or data technology.

The light factor is also a problem for eye-health. But it also compromises you shining your own light onto the text, when it physically shines back at you (in blue light, to boot). It reduces your engagement, on a more holistic level and promotes, a superfical reading which in turn will create a demand for a more superficial style in writing. We need mediums that fit the message; and thank god, not every book (the novel) has one!

You see, just like we don't only eat with our stomach (the digestive process begins with the eyes, releasing juices etc at the sight of food), we also use our whole body to read actively. You could survive on supplements or intravenous feeds, but does this enhance the quality (enjoyment) of life?

It is already a problem that we read and not listen to story-telling (a great loss in conventional class-room teaching)..... But that brings me to my favorite topic of the moment, audiobooks (see one of my posts). Nobody on Steemit seems to like them (so far - although there is a growing market!). But I think they have an additional function to print. E-books do not, but as a tree-lover, I can easily think of one advantage.

In short: paper for me, so that I can twist and turn my body around the page to help my eyes see better, my ears hear better, indeed, all my (12) senses engage better. ESPECIALLY after a long day behind the screen already! I love looking forward to AFK-time with a bit of a natural feel in my hands. Sometimes it doesn't even matter then if the book is rubbish! How wonderfully more dramatic to toss it in the bin than press delete?

However, in fact: how seldom booklovers will bin a book, compared to deleting a file. It might cost a tree, but you might win an attitude of sustainability. Perhaps, the printed version forces you to select more wisely, chewing twice on a heavy read, refusing to pile on the rubbish. It is also harder to keep on hoarding, store away and never get round to the printed book lying around in your space, at all. Although, having said that, which avid reader does not have a shelf of "books I must read" already lined up?...

Enjoyed your reply very much. I also like to twist and turn around the pages!

I prefer the electronic version of the book, but unfortunately in college, I have to use paper books. These books are not cheap. In order to save a little, I decided to find used textbooks on the site. Search by ISBN or title is possible - it's very convenient. Books are reasonably priced and in very good condition. I recommend to everyone.

Books give me new knowledge and help me complete tasks. If I'm unsure if I can manage a problem sufficiently, I prefer to delegate it. And I just discovered a writing a medical case study that has shown to be really handy in preparing. As a consequence of this, I was recently able to write a nursing tasks on time and with high quality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00