Funding Education with the Blockchain, Update Post #1: We Funded Project #1!!!!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Wow! It happened much more quickly than I ever thought possible, but Project #1 has been fully funded!

If you're just now tuning in, I blogged yesterday about funding two projects from my wife's classroom via the blockchain!

That's right, it was yesterday, which is nowhere close to the payout for the post, so how did this happen so quickly?

The projects were being hosted by DonorsChoose.org, which today celebrated funding its 1,000,000th project! In honor of that, all donations were being matched at a 100% rate, which means for today, the projects only needed half as much to complete their funding. For Project #1, this was only $142. Through liquid donations to the project thanks to the blog yesterday, I had already received 17.2 SBD toward the project, so I converted those SBDs to STEEM, added a few of my own to make up the difference, and sent the donation!

Here are the process transactions for proof!

Now, if you check out the project page, you'll see that it has been fully funded! I don't know if my wife has seen it yet at the time I'm posting this, so I can't wait to hear her excitement.

The best news is that my original blog is still 6 days away from payout, which means we're almost guaranteed to be able to fully fund Project #2!

Any and all funds received in addition to what we need will be applied to future projects on DonorsChoose. This is just the beginning of using the blockchain as a transparent way to contribute to education in the United States. Thank you to everyone who has upvoted the original post so far. I'll be thanking all of you in a week's time when the post pays out.

For now, I'd like to give a special shout out to the users who contributed liquid SBD yesterday and today to make this accomplishment happen quickly!

@tattoodjay
@hopehuggs
@karinzdailygrind
@molovelly

Thank you all for your gifts, even the tips from @tipu! Every bit counts, so I look forward to sharing more happy news with you all soon!

If you would like to contribute, there's still plenty of time! I'm accepting liquid STEEM and SBD donations to my account, and alternatively, you can vote up both of the following posts to support this education initiative:

Thank you all again for your support! It's incredible to see the blockchain impact the lives of teachers and students. Let's keep it up!

Update: I forgot to announce that any liquid rewards from this and future update posts will go toward future projects. Thank you for your response to this post already!

Footer

The STEEM Engine

Footer

Sort:  

congratz with the funded project! awesome people have such inerest!

Awesome work. It's great when the community works together and supports fundraising for good causes.

It's been wonderful to see the community come together and unite around this cause. I really appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to read and comment.

Great news! Really exciting and amazing that they had a "half price sale" yesterday!! That's really unusual! Thanks for sharing the progress. I bet she was SUPER excited!! :)

She was thrilled. She told me this morning that she was too excited to go to school. haha Both of her projects got funded yesterday, so she'll be able to launch another one that we can fund with the payout from this post! Thank you for your support!

That's awesome. She totally deserves a mental health day!! That's great that both of the projects came through yesterday! Wahoo!!!

Really cool to see that the technology of blockchain is providing with the ability to fund projects like these! What more could we ask for, right? :P

It really is fascinating to see some of the applications it can have. A lot of times we think about it in terms of just Steemit.com, but the potential for impact is much greater. Thank you for your comment.

Congratulations @ethandsmith! Your wife is going to be so happy!

She was thrilled! Both of her projects got fully funded yesterday, so we're going to be able to get even more things for her classroom when this post pays out. Thank you so much for your support!

This is such an awesome project and it shows how Steemit can be leveraged to do lots of small scale fundraisers which make a real difference. From wobbly chairs in VA to planting trees in the African highlands and giving fruit and school supplies to kids in Bangladesh and Indonesia.
@danttheman had a giving community at the core of Steemit when he came up with his vision.
#Steemon

Hey Stephen! Thanks for the perspective! You're right. I love to see real-world applications of the blockchain. They're all across Steemit like you said. Another great account to check out is @youarehope, which is helping fund all sorts of charity efforts across the globe.

Thanks for your comment and support!

@ethandsmith that's awesome! Congrats on the first achievement the kids are going to love the wobble stools in particular :)

Yes! I'm excited to hear about the kids using them when they arrive! I'll be sure to update everyone. You might even get to see a video of me using one of the stools! haha

Happy wife = happy life. I’m sure she will be bubbly when she gets the good news.

She was thrilled to hear the good news. She also found out this morning that her other project was fully funded as well, so she'll be coming up with another project that we can put the funds from these posts toward! Thanks for your comment and support!

Woohoo now this is the power of Steemit and the community coming together

Would never have happened on any other site

It's been great to see everyone's responses to this initiative, and I look forward to future opportunities to fund other projects. Thanks for your support, Jay.

ITs a great idea and I was glad to help :)

This is really cool. Love project 2, so least I can do is give a little contribution.

Hey @jeanlucsr! Thank you so much for your donation. The children will really appreciate it, and I do, too.

Glad I can contribute @ethandsmith! Do keep me in the loop :). I will check up on your updates as well.

Will do! I should have another update coming next Tuesday or Wednesday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46