You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Low grades to good grades : How to help a struggling student

OK, so I enjoyed your post and thought I'd give you some perspective as a parent.

Firstly, depending on your religious views, there's no prize at the end of it all which is one little nugget of information they don't tell you at school. You work hard, try to have a comfortable life, retire, hang around for a few years and then finally bow out. Now there's an accusation that's flung about of how "Parents relive their lives through their children." and it's kinda true but not in the bad way it is portrayed, generally by youngsters. Sadly the answer to Life, The Universe and Everything is not 42

The primary goal is the production of more carbon-based units to keep the human race going. The secondary goal is warmth, food and shelter and the third goal, which really should be the first, is to ensure your children not only don't make the same mistakes you the parent has made over the years but that your children have a better start in life than you had.

When my twin daughters were growing up all I ever used to say to them was "Hey, it's up to you. If you don't want to do your homework that's fine. If that's the case all you need to learn is "Do you want to go large on that?"" Now I'm not saying that working at a burger outlet is a bad life choice, what I am saying is you can do better. By ensuring they got good grades they both have professional careers, one is a nurse and the other a teacher.

P.S. Not heard of @blue-pencil I'll have a look at that. Thanks.

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree with you. you're discussing it in the parent's view. Yeah, parents are our gods and if we obeyed them, things will never get wrong. But some parents pushing their child over his limit and I have seen many of my friends suffer from it. If both understand each other's desires well, there will be no problems. This can be done with you parent's help and love. Thanks for your attention and opinion Sir, It's a great honour to me. I'm still a child you know.

About the @blue-pencil, it's a great work. It helps the authors to write their ideas in a better way.

Any chance you can tell my girls I'm a god? LOL

I've done a short post on Blue Pencil. :-)

They'll understand that someday, you'll see. Every parent should be respected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45