You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Day of Teaching A College Class Knowing I Had Extreme Social Anxiety

Congratulations on "working through it" and getting to where you are today! Thanks for sharing a success story.

I have struggled with a fear of public speaking for most of my life... I'm an introvert, but not really shy or socially anxious; I just get really overwhelmed by crowds. I've led dozens of workshops; I've spoken before 1200 people at a trade conference... and I'm even quite good at it... and yet? If I have to address more than about 6-8 people I feel supremely overstimulated. I've learned to just "live with it."

Sort:  

I would say I'm an extreme introvert or...I use to be. It's strange how teaching a big 100 person class doesn't phase me but a small group would be more nerve wracking. I feel like in the big rooms I just zone out and go into my own little world. Smaller groups I guess I'm more aware of individuals and how they are looking at me while I talk. Thanks for reading my story. I'm glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54