You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the distinction of art & science hurting the education system?

I totally read this... and I read your other links.

But... it's soooooooo long, I didn't know how to respond. I feel like this is a conversation, rather than a question.

But, if I had to be concise (edit to add: didn't end up concise): Art is Science and Science is Art. I don't think that's been disputed. I DO see the issue of them being 'different' at a school level (young).

But... I feel like an ART CLASS and a SCIENCE CLASS would be COMPLETELY different... so with that thought- they SHOULD be separate.

I do see your point that this could potentially hurt some who simply don't have an understanding of deep concepts. But... that's a Darwinism. I mean, YOU figured it out. I figured it out. Most everyone I speak with understands this... it's just a few (yes, less educated) that won't ever get it.

Advice: Do what you can and communicate with others. Make sure all who YOU come in contact with understand the similarities AND differences of these two... "word boxes".

I could literally go on forever. I could hit each point. But it's taken me two days just to feel like I could comment a little.

Your post on non-fiction/fiction is really good.
In response to that: I think that humans have some kind of weird connection to the ... well, EVERYTHING. This means, that (to me) fiction is simply a memory of something that has happened or will happen.

Science Fiction is a perfect example. I feel like the people that write those novels are tapping into something.

One of my favorite things to say, "If I just thought it, someone else already has."

For something to exist we just have to THINK it. And then there it is.
Making all possible 'art' eventually science. 😎

Sort:  

@carrieallen - I am so grateful for you having read my post(s), and just over the moon that someone has taken the time to process and respond to it. I'd give you a big hug right now if I could :)

If art is science and science is art then why are there two different words? I know I sound pedantic but everyone that I talk to say that there is a difference but I haven't really seen any specific example where this is the case. And I can't find exactly where this is defined either...

In the same way when people ask me what my favourite fiction/non-fiction book is I ask them what they mean by fiction (or non-fiction) and I get a similar response (isn't it obvious? non-fiction is about facts!).

I think a Taoist would say that things are just as they are, and it is us humans that try to put them in boxes to make sense of it, but in that process we make things subject to our interpretation which means that there can't be a definition for everyone.

First, I get it. I, too, am just plain stoked when someone reads something I wrote. 😍


I think a Taoist would say that things are just as they are, and it is us humans that try to put them in boxes to make sense of it, but in that process we make things subject to our interpretation which means that there can't be a definition for everyone.

This.👆

I think the boxes are meant to help explain things. For example, why call fruit by any name other than that? Answer: for better understanding. Simple, yet oh so complicated. 😏

We use words to try to communicate. And that's all we can do... until we evolve to not needing words anymore. 😉 But, the way things are going, I'm gonna guess that will be a minute.

One last thought: The definition of art is so loose and open to interpretation (example: Art is Everything) that it may be safe to make science a sub-category of art, rather than an equal or opposite. #morethingstoponder 🤔

I like the #morethingstoponder tag. I also happen to think science is everything too so I am still not sure what the difference is :p

What the difference between fruit and an apple?

Or wood and a tree?

🙃

We have definitions for those things and they appear to be adequate for their purpose. Hence we can say that an apple is a fruit while a fruit can be an apple but it can also be a pear. In the same way a tree contains wood but a block of wood isn't necessarily a tree.

However, when I apply the definition of art to something I find that I can call it a science for exactly the same reason because the definition doesn't exclude it from being called art or science. Therefore, are art and science the same or are the definitions not clear enough?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65