You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The heart for special needs children

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

It is becoming more and more widely accepted that trauma early in a childs life can change the way that their brain works. Aside from other physical and physiological factors that are easy to identify. Many people that work with children are going to need to start understanding how to identify and work with kids who have been impacted by trauma or they will continue to fall through the cracks. Some children have no heat/electricity/running water, you bet that is going to impact how they learn at school and how they act.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading and commenting. My article is not really about trauma. It is about special needs like autism, ADHD, ADD etc.

I realize that and I thought I acknowledged that in my comment. My apologies. If you work in education though I think you will find that trauma isn't just a buzzword, it will become something that every educator has to deal with and understand just like the other special needs you mention.

Trauma is the way a person reacts to certain events.When a child feels unsafe and lack of protection, it can cause trauma. Accidents, constant and intense bullying, separation from loved ones, natural disasters, emotional abuse, mental illness, terrorism etc can cause different degree of trauma. As an educator, we do need to deal with it when a child is in trauma which I do not deny it as well. I am trained in Special needs as well as mental health in general since educators will need to be more aware and provide the assistance as much as we can and direct affected children to get the right intervention.

Exactly! Thanks for the reply. You explained what I was trying to say better than I did. My wife and I have been working in public education for 15 years. She is a school social worker and I am an administrator. Sorry to hijack the intent of your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42