Writing, Plagiarizing and Burgers

in #steemiteducation6 years ago


Image source

You're staring at the screen thinking what you should be writing. The cries of the children needing food on the table saddens you. You need the payout, but you need to write something. What should you do? An idea comes to your head. Perhaps, if I just Google something interesting and copy and paste it on Steemit, it would be fine. I'm faster than smarter than a Cheetah (or the cheetah bot). I can get away with it, right? Alright, maybe the children crying bit was a bit too much. But, we have all been there. Some of us may have faced it during our University days and some on Steemit.

Plagiarizing is a very tempting idea. Why should you spend all those time writing something when someone else has already done it for you? Good things are meant to be shared, so should you not have the right to just copy and paste whatever you want? True, however, Steemit's enforcers are strict. Like a lecturer that sends your work through layers of plagiarism checks, Steemit does the same too. While a lecturer can suspend you, Steemcleaners and other community members can downvote you. I don't mind crossing my lecturer but not the entire community.

This does not address the most obvious issue, which is what should I write? How do I write something interesting when my life is not that interesting to begin with? Well, there are many ways, but instead of talking about those methods, let's compare them to the different types of burgers, shall we?

The Classic Cheeseburger


Image source

Ahhh.. The classic Cheeseburger, the perfect harmony between bread, meat, cheese and vegetables. You can never go wrong with it and it tastes good no matter what. I mean, not all of us have that hyper sensitive taste buds of Gordon Ramsey. I don't know about you, but give me a normal Cheeseburger with a juicy enough patty and I'm happy.

That in essence, is the gist of a good article. The patty is the Meat to your burger and article, it could be a concept, a technique, a how-to. These are normally factual posts that aims to solve a problem and provide readers with the guidance necessary to solve a certain issue. For example, you may want to write a post on how to exchange Steem dollars on Blocktrades. That's a problem that some are facing and your post may just help them.

While there are many who have written similar articles, the way you approach the write-up as well as the structure is unique. You may want to add in some thoughts and some experience in solving a particular problem. This is akin to the bun, the vegetables , the cheese and the sauce of the burger. While everyone knows what a Cheeseburger tastes like, some may want to add their very own sauce or a different type of cheese.

Once you combine the meat with the rest of the ingredients, you got yourself a burger. While your patty may be similar to others, the way in which you prepare or use the different types of ingredients may be different. As such, it sets your ever so normal Cheeseburger apart from the others. So why plagiarize when you can create something that is uniquely yours just by tweaking the approach, the method or just adding your own personal experience into your writing?

Try the Cheeseburger approach today!

The Meat-for-Bun Burger


Image source

If boring how-to posts or solving a problem is not your style, perhaps go for something creative? Something that defies conventional norms? If they say that a burger should be made of bread, you make the bread, meat. Why settle for one patty when you can make it all patty, right?

The Meat-for-Bun Burger form of writing is one that defies conventional norms. You may want to do a post that engages your audience on an issue. You may want to talk about something that is morally grey and may want to see what the larger community thinks of it. You may want to talk about something that is taboo for you or for some culturally. Of course, do be objective about it and set goals. You may want to be clear as to why you are writing a particular post to avoid stepping on anyone's toes.

This is similar to the Meat-for-Bun Burger, do go easy on it and don't overdo it. I don't think eating such a burger should be a daily affair, you know, for health reasons. Similar to writing on controversial topics, you may not want to make it a daily staple. Some may misunderstand what you may be trying to do. Although, it does add to the diversity to the different posts found on Steemit, like eating a Meat-for-Bun Burger, I hope you know what you are doing.

The Specialty Burgers

So you may know a certain skill that is unique or perhaps you are in the middle of an international crisis? Well, that is definitely Steemit worthy! Of course, this could range from anything that has happened from years ago to something that you are facing at present. Such posts do attract an audience. However, you may be wondering, how do I know if people would like it?


Image source

Such writing is akin to specialty burgers such as doughnut burgers or even vegetarian burgers. Not everyone likes it, some may hate it but people would eat it for the thrill of it and some may come back for more. Similar to posts on unique experiences, such posts do attract the attention of readers.

If you don't have any stories that are groundbreaking or perhaps you may deem your life experiences to be not as epic as it should be. Let me just say that everyone's life and experience is uniuique. What you may find boring or mundane may just be interesting to someone else. I have stayed in the beautiful city of Kota Kinabalu. After 8 years, it has become normal and mundane to me. However, to many others, it is paradise.

Be bold, be creative, create an epic burger that no one else has ever made with sauce made from the tears of a unicorn even. It doesn't have to make sense as long as you have fun. I'm sure the chefs who made the burgers below had loads of fun doing it.


Image source

You should do the same too, go crazy, get creative, create something unique. Of course, never doubt your own creativity. If someone would eat a pink-bun-burger (I know I won't) I'm sure there are some out there who would love to read what you have to post in what ever flavor or language you post in.

Happy Steeming and continue creating awesome posts!


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

As a middle school English teacher, I have this conversation daily. I tell my students they may as well just turn in a note that says "Mrs. C, you are a moron." It is insulting when my students think I will believe they know how to use a semicolon properly. 😂

Posts is not easy but we're there is a will there is a way

Using burger as example to explain plagiarism is a great metaphor. I am hungry now 😟

I thought of daniel w when I wrote this, lets all go to big hug burger haha

It's a good advice and l remember one of my post it's flagged and it's a challenge when you're mistaken for the first time but others keep remembering what happened at the first time using the same thought to other post I did not give up l know what am doing to be creative to write anything from my sources l did not dig a dream of writing am writer l will continuing to write What I believe my aimed at educating the community is nun stop the more pain we get the more successful we increase this is a good platform for my skill let me still facing the difficult way people to understand,it increase my awareness in what kind of society am living and how l can convert them from dead mentality to alive mentality.

Sorry to hear that people remember you for what you have done in the past. I do hope you'll be able to get a larger audience in the future.

That's what good about steemit, it produce more creative content creator. But those burgers though. Make me hungry!

Haha.. It did make me hungry too.. Was craving for burger king

Good read and good reminders. What appeals to some may not appeal to others and that’s ok. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by, that's right, as long as you have a core audience, it's all good

Nice post but you should have a TL;DR

Lol.. My bad.. Got carried away writing

Oh wow man, this post was just so creative. I think it was the meat-for-bun option haha. It was different and explained how to write posts with a different and interesting analogy-burgers. Loved every bit of it.

Yeah, plagiarism does seem like a lucrative option at times, but as for me, I never got tempted by it. Somehow, I just cannot fathom putting my name under someone else's work. it is not mine and it will never be so I just cannot take credit for it.

I suppose it's the end goal, many do it for the money but if it's for fun, there's really no point in plagiarism.. Good seeing you!

Yeah I do get it when people plagiarize for money. Sometimes, needs do make you desperate to adopt any possible measure to earn. I get that, but even then I believe it is best to look out for genuine methods. Feels good reading your blogposts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58