So You Feel Like Hitting Your Student...

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


Image source

Recently, many of my friends who are not teachers started asking about my thoughts about teachers hitting students. There have been many cases in my country who have done it and have received very negative media coverage.

Now, before I continue further, please note a few things. Firstly, there are many teachers in my country who subscribe to the concept 'spare the rod, spoil the child'. Although the concept is good, the implementation is poor and the government does not condone teachers hitting students. Secondly, I personally do not agree with hitting students and do not subscribe to this method.

However, I think we have to be real here. None of us are on a constant high. Anyone who has taught before can tell you that teaching is not always sunshine and butterflies. There are times when life drops a child into your life that really requires a lot grace. It takes a lot for me to get to that stage, but I once had a student that really challenged me. He knew he was getting to me and he wanted to make a viral video of a teacher hitting him (he pointed out his plan to me over lunch).

He was my student for three years and I have never laid a hand on him. That's because there are a few things that hold me back.

See The Good


Image source

I don't mean the part where everyone is inherently good. I mean that whenever a student is being disruptive in a class, there's a good reason why he or she is so. The class may need a short 5 minute break. Bored students are highly disruptive. If that's not the case, they normally become difficult over time. None of them wake up one morning and thought... 'Hmmm, I'm going to be disruptive today.'

I like to know the students under my charge. I will try to find out about their family, their past performance and how their friends see them. Based on my experience, these are the things that can disturb a student emotionally. I have some students who do not stay with their parents. Depending on age, it affects them emotionally and it shows in how they act in the class. Some of them are victims of bullying and they may release all the penned up anger in the class.

Whatever the reason may be, take a step back. As a teacher, you can't control how the student acts, but you can control what you do next. Sometimes, taking a step back to find out more about the student helps you in making the right call. Think about it, through punishment, the problem is solved NOW. However, I would take my time to find out the problem and help the child work through that problem. That way, you solve the problem for life and you win the heart of a child who may be on the brink of depression.

Worst-Case Scenario


Image source

However, what if there is this one student that you feel is just special. So special that many would see him as the destroyer or the harbinger of death. I'm exaggerating of course, but you get my point. There are some who can be disruptive no matter how much you talk to them. So, what now? Well that calls for two things.

First, know that you can control nothing but how you react in the class. You can't control if everyone would laugh at you and you can't control if a student decides to jump on the table and pull of his pants (Yes, it has happened before). However, you could control how you react to the situation. I would imagine that many lost control of how they would handle the situation. They reacted to the problem instead of figuring out a way to handle it. Instead of reacting, perhaps a better way would be to to take a deep breath and ask to meet the child outside of the classroom. That time away would help you strategize on what to do next.

Secondly, you will need to take away that incentive the child is getting from being disruptive. Some may just want an audience, others may want your attention. It is up to you to figure out what it is and take that away. That being said, there is no real one size fits all way to handle a disruptive or difficult child in the classroom.


Image source

However, remember that you have complete control over your actions. You determine what to do next, how you would take action and when you would take that action. Finally, remember that your shape the lives of those in your class. For some of them, the only way they know how to solve problems is through violence and negativity. You have the power to change that. So the next time you feel like hitting your student. Remember...

Violence solves nothing and you are in control of the outcome.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

its a very great and valuable story.Some information are unknown.its a amazing motivational post also. I really impress i this post.

i feel very guilty and challenged by your post. this year, its as if life stormed me with difficult to handle children.and youre right, they are disruptive for a reasons. its just so difficult at times to maintain composure. but very true, the only thing we can control us our response. we need to respond and not react to the situation.

Its hard to point from my angle ... back in my primary school, canned is a norm thing .. so reach to high school.. we so used to it already... BUT NOW.... its a diffrent era... honestly i dunno wat went wrong...

Those in my school been touch by the cain (including me) , ermmmmm not proudly say but, we all came out just fine... we passed n sailed thru... what’s changed now bro ???

It's illegal in South Africa to hit students, when I was in grade 6, and that was almost 20 years ago, I had a teacher who literally lost her voice because of shouting at disruptive and unruly students and I know the situation is much worse today... It can't be easy for teachers especially since hitting is illegal.

Remember... Violence solves nothing and you are in control of the outcome.

A super important core value that every teacher should know and embrace. Thank you for another thoughtfully-written post, @alvinauh! Reading your posts has been almost a daily thing for me, it is like getting a dose of teacher inspirations. Thanks again! :)

yeah... i see many teachers are unable to control their emotions and let it out to students. Sometimes it creates trauma in the kids not a the victim itself but to all other students which are witnessing the whole thing. I know students can be difficult sometimes but it's also our reflections in some way. Alwyas choose to react well and not out of emotional outburst. Thanks for sharing ur story :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 40 (2/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68