Earthquakes & Public Speaking

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

I live in a land that is blessed. It has not natural disasters such as earthquakes and tornadoes. Well, at least until it actually happened. Earthquakes are fairly rare in Borneo. However, it was here that I experienced my first earthquake. Thus far, I have experience this twice in my life. Once, from 2015 and the second time happened today, just about an hour ago. It's pretty scary, I'll admit. However, there were some very valuable lessons learnt.

Specifically, there were very important lessons learnt from the earthquake that I can relate to when teaching public speaking. To build that connection, you will need a bit of a background during my first earthquake experience. It all started on a beautiful weekend and everyone at home was just taking it easy. When the chairs and some bottles started shaking, I immediately grabbed my daughter and my phone. We ran down 13 floors with my daughter thinking that this was a game. When I arrived at the ground floor, I realized something...

The Lesson Of The Underwear

Now, I will neither confirm nor deny that I was wearing underwear when I arrived at the ground floor. It was a tense situation and I was most likely prepared, so I will leave it to you to interpret what happened. However, I would say that this presents an important lesson in public speaking. Nope, its not always wear your underwear, but no one will know if you do or don't.


Image source

Specifically, no one knows how good you are, how nervous you are or how you are like in person. Most people don't know how your speech will go. From the moment when you come on stage to the time when you utter your first word, you have a choice. A choice to set aside all your fear and put up a good show or to let all your fear and insecurities spill forth onto the stage. Yes, it may be difficult but no one know how nervous you are nor how bad you are until you show it to them.

Thus, go forth confidently and present what you have spent so much time preparing.

Your First Time is Always the Worse

Wait, so this is your first time speaking? I get it, its something new and you are afraid that people would know if you were wearing underwear prepared enough to speak. I assure you, the first time is always the worse. During my first earthquake experience, I thought that I was going to die. I ran down the stairs as fast as I could. I left my wife behind unfortunately... Yeah, I know, I am a horrible husband. But hey, I was thinking of my daughter, so that makes me the best dad ever!

That being said, upon arriving on the Ground floor, I realized that I was the first one there. People slowly started walking down calmly only after 5 minutes. It seemed as if it was not their first time experiencing an earthquake. I was rather embarrassed, looking as if I have overreacted. The lesson here however is clear, everything compounds if it is your first time going through a problem.


Image source

In public speaking, during your first time on stage, the smirks seem louder, the stares more hostile and it always seems as if the audience hates you. However, after speaking in public for the second, third maybe fourth time, things start to shift. You will start to notice the negative things less and hear the voices of defeat less. Furthermore, you may even want to come back for more because there is such a great feeling being on stage. Thus, the first time is always the hardest, but it doesn't mean that you are not doing a good job on stage.

You Can Never Be Ready, But You Can Be Prepared

Ultimately, you can never be ready in public speaking. You simply have no control over things such as how your audience would react and how your heart just can't stop thumping like a disco. However, you can prepare. You can run through your script again and again before the actual presentation date. You can ensure that you have practiced it in front of the mirror. You can also prepare enough jokes to keep the audience entertained.

The same applies to my first earthquake experience. Before the earthquake, I had a bag packed for any possible wrong scenario. You know, scenarios such as a zombie apocalypse, an alien invasion and an invasion of a foreign army. Ok, the last one did happen. However, I was not ready for an earthquake. Thus, I was prepared but was not ready for certain unforeseen situations.


Image source

In sum, be prepared, be bold and know that your greatest critic is yourself. If you are teaching public speaking, I hope the points above helps. If however you are preparing to public speak for the first time, I hope this post helps you prepare for it.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Good post, invites us to reflect on the topic that should be developed

This post has received a $4.55 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @borcast.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

Cheers @borcast! thanks heaps for the upvote

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@alvinauh, I am impressed that you could put together earthquake and public speaking. Well, it is an eye opener for me, and I learnt some new perspective in looking the world and our daily life.

Thanks for stopping by, its always good to look at interesting situations in life and ask.. How can I learn from this. I'm glad that you like it.

@alvinauh, truly agree and thanks for the inspiration.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Pick #1! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually.

Thanks so much! such an honor being picked for this

Between earthquakes and stage fright is the most terrible thing. The earthquakes kill us, stage fright makes us so embarrassed @alvinauh

Or.....Stage fright kills us inside..haha.. thanks for stopping by!

You're welcome

a serious but funny story at the end of the story, very useful and thanks @alvinauh

Thank you and thanks for stopping by

First of all @alvinauh, I’m glad you are okay after the earthquake. I had to smile at your underwear mention for it reminded me of the time I was going to give a speech at a wedding and was told, if I was nervous, to picture everyone listening to my speech as sitting there naked. 😃

Lol.. that always worked..somehow, I just dart my eyes across everyone's faces really really quickly. Don't want to stare at someone for too long or else it makes me nervous too..haha

Glad that you're ok after the earthquake bro. Anyway, my first time doing public speaking I almost fainted and my vision was so blurry. I hodl the mic stand firmly trying not not fall down and eventually have all the bravery and guts to continue. I managed to convinced myself that I can do it and eventually I did. That experience help me overcome my nervousness until now whenever I speak in front or a big crowd :)

Super story, I'm pleased you made it through the earthquake unscathed. Best dad ever is true, making sure you rushed you daughter to safety! Good advice mixed in here for public speaking as well.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79