You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Win a free copy of Cost Benefit Jr.™ [official contest]

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

This is super cool @Geke and I'd love to win a copy for my family. I've got my wife interested now too; she's an accountant so just mentioning your book piqued her attention.

My son is 7.5 years old and we're teaching him a little about money while demonstrating good practices. His first real lesson has come after kayaking and deciding he really wanted one of his own. He was a natural with the paddles. He'd never became so interested in saving a large sum of money until now. This was at the beginning of summer. Now, he's getting close to his goal, so this would be a perfect time to introduce your book.

That's why I'm going to chose Section 1 - Keira's Allowance as the one I'm most looking forward to. Ready to make his first big purchase with funds he's patiently been saving could be a fantastic chance to learn opportunity cost and sunk cost before he pulls the trigger. I also choose Section 1 because that would be the beginning of these lessons with our son.

I'll also be looking forward to Section 6 and showing him the hidden costs of gaining those funds and Section 3 to try and communicate the potential value of that money if he chose to do other things with it. That, in turn, could be a chance to officially introduce crypto currency to him; he's heard me talking about it and knows I have some, but that's about it right now. I've been thinking about when/how to go about teaching him more, and this could certainly help lay the concepts out in an easier to undersrand manner than dad just trying to explain it. Hah.


Congrats on the publication of your book and thanks for the chance to win a copy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64444.96
ETH 3506.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58