You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The only constant in life is change.

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Great post there @jeezzle Hopefully things will pick up soon for you in the restaurant, it is not easy when paying bills is a struggle, and like your post outlines, change will come and things will improve for you and your workmates..

Your post brought up something about the US (where I think you are from?), which I struggle with. I have been to your great country numerous times, 4 holidays and twice for full summers during Uni - 2 great summers in California!! So, the thing I struggle to understand is tipping culture.

Firstly, all waiters and waitresses should be paid a minimum wage in line with other industries. They are pulling the wool over your eyes big time, it is a disgrace that you have to live on tips, which are completely at the discretion of the paying public. If that means putting the price of food and drink up 15 - 20%, so be it. The system as it stands is just not fair on workers like you. The second point is kind of the opposite, the system is also unfair on the paying customer. For example, here in Ireland, tipping is not expected, but I still often tip waiters, my barber, my taxi driver if the service is very good, and for the waiters, it is also important that I enjoyed the meal. Good service deserves to be rewarded, but if my food is just not good, or the waiter is ignorant or unfriendly, I don't see why I should tip..

Now, just to be clear, on each and every trip to the states, I have tipped generously. As with all of international trips, I respect the local customs, but this tipping culture is something I don't agree with for those 2 reasons. Pay the waiters a proper wage, and let people tip based on quality, not to subsidise the waiters wages.. The restaurant is surely responsible for that...

Rant over :o)

Sort:  

I've always wanted to visit Ireland. I have a feeling that it would be a very peaceful experience. Everyone that I have ever met or talked to from there seems to have a great attitude.

We do get several people from different countries around the world but most of them don't tip well simply because in those countries waiters are given a high hourly wage and so they aren't used to tipping there.

Tipping really is an interesting thing. I don't think most people know that waiters get such a low hourly wage. It's interesting but we have our good days and our bad days like anyone else. The only difference is that our bad days are probably a bit lower paying than the ones that others might have.

Ya, I think you'd like Ireland. For the most part we are very chilled out, and don't take ourselves to seriously... We are hard working, but know how to enjoy ourselves as well.. I'm so glad that the Irish people you've met have given you such a positive outlook on our little country..

As for the people who don't tip well, I think if you visit a country, you should read about the local customs, and act accordingly.. To do otherwise is a little ignorant in my book... Having said that, it was tough tipping the barman in New York in the Meatpackers district, who was charging me $44 for 2 Captain Morgans + dash of coke... :o)

I do think the fact that you and your co-workers rely on tips is grossly unfair, and the onus should be on the restaurants to pay you a proper wage.. Any tips should be a bonus, shared between the staff..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67