Let's Talk About—Pageviews

in #steemitdev7 years ago (edited)

Young Woman On Laptop and Phone.png
Is she looking at my post?!? Does that laptop look old?
Source

Why I Care About Pageviews

As an author, here are three things I care about (not ranked in any particular order and not an exhaustive list):

  1. Visibility—Is my post, book, comic book, comment, etc., being seen by anyone?
  2. Feedback—When people do see what I've created, what do they think?
  3. Compensation—It's hard to create, and keep on creating it, without some level of remuneration, and I would like to create on a full-time basis if it's possible.

In the case of the list above, I believe visibility drives the other two. So, being able to track how many eyeballs are getting on my posts/comments is important to me.

For Da Newbies

If you are on Steemit and you make your way down to the bottom of a post (just before the comment section, if any), you will find a bunch of different icons and numbers running from left to right across the page. Approaching the far right, just before you get to the social media sharing icons, you will see an eyeball icon followed by a number.

The number represents the total number of pagviews a post has. When I first took a look at it, I thought it might represent unique users, but it doesn't. You can refresh the page and you will see that the counter goes up.

You Got A Problem?

To me, this is not very helpful in and of itself. Especially when I know I've been back to the page three or four times to reply to a comment someone else left. If those commenting on my post are doing the same thing, then each time they're doing it, the pageview counter is logging that view. So, instead of having, say, a dozen unique views, by the time it's said and done, I might only have three or four.

Now, this doesn't mean pageviews are totally worthless to me. They can tell me how many times people are coming back to the post, too (less my own), but I still need to know unique views to have something to compare it to.

I propose then, that a unique visitor counter be added.

Is It Easy To Do?

I don't know how, but daily unique users for all of Steemit can be found on sites like hypestat.com, where I grabbed this—

Unique vistors daily.png

Would That Make You Happy?

Well...mostly.

Even with unique users up and running, there are inaccuracies that may occur. A post by @xervantes four months ago points out that unique visitors are generally determined through unique ip addresses, which means this can occur—

If multiple people connect to Steemit from the same household this will generate one IP-address. But when you are at a different household (for example visiting your moms) than you will be counted as a new unique visitor.

@xervantes goes on to say there's no way to know how many actually unique users are getting on through the same ip address, or checking in on the go or at someone else's house, which means unique visitors could be skewed a little or a lot. Regardless, a unique visitor counter would be more useful than just a pageview counter.

You Still Want To Keep Pageviews?

Yes. At the very least, I could ballpark my pageviews per unique visitor. And, I could keep track of activity like this:

1-More votes than views.png
2-More votes than views.png
3-More votes than views.png
4-More votes than views-mine.png

The first three images I grabbed from three different posts that were published by three different users at three different times on Steemit, the oldest being about a year, and the last being fairly recent. The fourth image is from my latest post published this past Saturday night.

All of them have more upvotes than they have pageviews.

Say What?!?

Shouldn't be that surprising, should it? If you've been around Steemit for at least a few days and done any reading of titles or actual posts from the trending or hot pages, there should be at least two obvious answers that come to mind. A third, though, shouldn't be too far behind. After noodling it for a minute or so, here's what I came up with as possible reasons for this oddity:

  1. Technical issue—Steemit has them (it's still in beta after all), so it's possible that the counter isn't firing every time.

My guess is, though, this is the least likely explanation, as someone surely would've pointed it out long before me, given the year or so long time frame. The fact I can't find any information on a suggestion to fix doesn't mean it doesn't exist, but I think there would have been more than a few people questioning it.

  1. Bots—I don't claim to be an expert on them, but I believe these don't actually visit a page in a way that would be recognized by the pageview counter. A votebot would come through the code itself, not to a human interface on the page.

This I think is very likely, and it would be nice to know who's human and what's not. The problem is, it's not always obvious when you look at who voted whether or not it's a person or a bot. In the case of my post mentioned above, I did go looking, and found at least one, if not two upvoters which could be bots (one of them had no other activity on it but voting and was receiving delegated Steem Power).

The rest though, had the characteristics of a human user—they weren't just voting to get rewards for curating, but were also posting and/or commenting. Which leads me to—

  1. People are voting from their feed, blog or some other page like trending or in the tags—You know like here:

Blog Feed.png

This is from my own personal blog feed, where the top three are resteemed. I also voted for them, after going to each post and reading it.

I know people don't have time. I also know people want to make a quick buck. In the case of a resteem appearing in your feed, it's easy to think, "If (fill-in-the-blank) thinks it's good, then it must be good." Even if you're following someone who consistently posts good content, it's an easy habit to fall into.

And if you're time strapped, but you at least want to know what others are leaving as an upvote, on Busy you can stay on your feed, know exactly what people paid by hovering over the upvote counter, and then reward accordingly.

Complain, Complain, Complain

I guess I should at least be glad that a human is responsible for the vote over the bot, and at least they trust either the author or the resteemer enough to come up with quality content, but...

Don't worry. I'm not losing sleep over it. It's just disheartening, that's all.

So, Now What?

I don't know. I'd like to advocate for a counter for unique users while keeping the pageview counter. Though it's not perfect, counting unique visitors has to be a more accurate way of measuring eyeballs on a post than just pageviews, which can be too high or too low based on the kind of activity.

The Floor Is Now Open

Any thoughts?

Sort:  

There's a bunch of ways to add a unique count, it's super easy too.

You could use cookies (yum), sessions, store the info in the database. All have pro's and cons.

Basically it's easier to not do it and just have it count up on each refresh.. lol The lazy way out :p

Yeah, I figured as much. In the grand scheme of things, it's probably a minor issue compared to fixes that could be made, but I also think it's something that will become pretty important as more and more people get on board. Particularly for those who consider themselves to be serious bloggers.

I haven't tried google analytics code to see if it works on Steemit. I just know I was reading another post where a third party counter was having issues keeping track of page views that a commenter suggested might be the way Steemit is cached.

At any rate, I'd still like one.

Yeah, I don't even look at the page views, in it's current state it is definitely a useless feature, they may as well get rid of it, because it's totally pointless. In fact if they aren't ever considering making it unique, it would free up some storage space and server load getting rid of it.

Yeah I don't know if that or anything else would work, the problem is with the external tracking they often need a javascript code to work, and I would assume steemit won't allow users posting javascript in their posts.

None of the blockchain portals, like Steemit.com, Busy, chainBB, etc., allow embedded code so there is no way to add a unique count to your posts. 😕

Twould be nice to have a unique pageview counter but probably pretty low on the list of priorities for the developers of Steemit.

But at some point, it won't be. So, I'm putting it out there now. And I'll revisit it again later when I have a little more oomph.

It's probably right at the bottom. :p

You're right, it would be nice to know how many people are actually looking at it. I also have noticed that people will have many more upvotes than views. I just concluded it was bots and left it at that. I tend to get good feedback on my articles from a core group of people (yourself included) and that's good enough for me. As long as my content is relevant to my engaged audience, and if I'm getting some type of compensation, then I'm good.

As long as my content is relevant to my engaged audience, and if I'm getting some type of compensation, then I'm good.

So true. There's onus on our end as the content creator to produce posts that people will want to read, and there's an equal onus on the audience to actually engage on a personal level.

I think the unique visitor counter isn't as important now as it will be down the road, when more and more professional bloggers who are used to pouring over analytics come rushing to Steemit. It would be nice to have something in place before that to help attract them but I'm not holding my breath, though I do have two fingers permanently crossed behind my back. :)

"Onus" Good word. The "Word King Crown" goes to you for the day. Well done!

It's an honor.

Up until now the best I've been able to muster is Word Man. Which kind of has a superhero ring to it, but on the surface, rather mundane powers. Oh, but how I could tongue-tie villains with my snappy patter bodacious banter rapier wit outmoded verbiage. :)

It's good to be king!

I saw a post with over 500 votes but only 6 views :p

Page views as a metric are pretty useless, not only because of the reasons you have pointed out, but also because only page views on steemit.com are counted. This means that it does include busy.org, chainBB, eSteem, Steepshot, DTube, etc. etc. etc.

This is because page views are not recorded on the Steem blockchain, they are just a steemit.com website internal metric. Even if it were on the blockchain there would be an implementation problem because honest reporting is not guaranteed, which is why I suspect they were left out of the blockchain code.

Long story short that unless the main portals (some of which are mentioned above) decide to collaborate on an open standard for it and share the data, the feature should really be scrapped because the information is not accurate and leaves people feeling discouraged.

The upside of knowing this is that you can interpret it as the lowest possible number of views, which are probably much higher! 😅

Thanks @personz for the explanation. I wondered if the pageviews were coming off of the blockchain or only the Steemit side. I know this isn't much of a priority now, but it's going to matter to quite a few of the people that Steemit and the other platforms, dTube in particular, are trying to bring over.

I don't know. Maybe people won't care as much as I think they will. If they see pretty high rewards for their efforts, that might be the only metric they need. :)

I think that's been the approach the designers have taken!

Let's talk about page views.

Click mine to get some quality pics of me and my family.

Follow to get a personal message from my grandfather.

-- a castrated goat leaving comments on the interweb

/==============D --

^^ that's my ding dong

Hi Mr @ripz, I almost flagged this but decided not to. I will ask that you please don't go around thinking people want to see drawings of your ding dong.

only recently seen the stuff about self promotion, trying to write less messages like that @bbrewer . However thanks for being kind.

We are all learning. You'll do fine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69