You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vote Culture: Self Voting or Not? Comment Voting or Not?

in #steemitculture7 years ago

I always upvote my posts because the option was selected by default, I asked about self-voting in steem.chat and someone replied "no difference if you're a minnow". Someone else wrote "if you don't upvote your posts you can't earn curation rewards" but I don't really know.
I never upvote my comments because looks bad, especially for whales (it's a way to take rewards and visibility with little effort, instead of giving).
And I never liked my own stuff on facebook : )

Sort:  

"no difference if you're a minnow". Someone else wrote "if you don't upvote your posts you can't earn curation rewards"

Both statements are correct. I'm a super minnow with almost no voting power. That means you get a very very small percentage of the total curation reward anyway. On top of that, their is a vote weight implemented based on who comes first. This curve is far from linear; Am not sure what the curve is,but for user the voters in front of you will get MUCH more vote reward than the voters behind you. Most of the time there are some big voters in front of me, bots and others who where just quicker, so my vote rewards are generally nothing to 0.001SP to maybe sometimes 0.010SP. Compared to lets say 1$ on a post or comment which lets say is 0.75$ for the author, which is about 3 Steem = 3 SP = therefore 3.000SP, the 0.001 SP for curation is NOTHING in comparison!

For me voting is to show the author appreciation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30