STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE - Update

After a little break I'm happy to announce the SCC will return by the end of the week!  To be honest it's been nice to have a wee break from 'online' for a while, and it's given me chance to give the SCC a makeover too.  The new look will be revealed in my next SCC post... I think you'll like it!

I've also had chance to spend more time with my family - my 2-year-old and my husband - and my mother came to visit us last week from England too so that's been lovely!  Here are a few photos of what we've been up to.  I do hope all of you are well and I look forward to getting back to Steemin'!!!


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Autumnal walks in Ards Forest, Donegal...



Walks to the beach...



Walks with our 'forest cat' Happy Monday too...



Building tall towers with Granny...



Lots of cooking and baking...



Harvesting the last of my cherry tomatoes (which I had to grow in the porch due to the cool summer temperatures)...



The sunset shining through the door curtain!  I thought it looked lovely...



Cloud watching (don't you think this looks like an old Singer sewing machine?)...



Indoor fires...



Outdoor fires...



Fires in the sky!...



And beautiful moody evenings for walks out too...



All photos are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S2800.


See y'all soon!!! x


Sort:  

This is great news my friend! Looking forward to SCC!
But it is really great to have a break and have some digital detox from time to time! Your photos say it all, you really had some great time offline!

Thanks so much @progressivechef... It's always nice when someone understands the need for a digital detox (I like that phrase, I'm going to steal it) as most people these days are simply flabbergasted that it's actually possible to disconnect from the internet for days or weeks and not die. hehe. Hope all is going well with you, I'm sure it is, so I will talk to you soon!

The cloud looks like a dog diving in a bush.

Ha ha... I see what you mean @breadcentric! Hope to see some more of your great recipes once the challenge gets going again :-)

Can't wait :)

I took a bit of a break from the platform and I was wondering if the SCC is still going on. Now I know it is and I can not wait to take part in it :) Cheers!!

Sounds great to me @knittybynature! After celebrating the 1st birthday of the challenge a few weeks ago, I'm very much looking forward to the next year of wonderful entries :-)

Gorgeous photos - and YES that is totally an old style sewing machine :) Thanks for sharing and I'm glad you've been getting in some good family time. Looking forward to SCC and it's 'new look" :) Can't wait!

Thanks @jaymorebeet! Feels like I've been away for ages and I've missed everyone actually! Nice to have some family time though :-)

It looks like you had a wonderful break, with wonderful autumn colors and plenty of family time. Fires are a big bonus of moving toward winter! Your fire images are really nice. And your cat looks happy in the forest! ; )

I'm looking forward to the next iteration of SCC. I'd like to get back into the swing of the SCC again! I'm hoping I can treat my foraging photos as bonus images, without having to put a little sign in them. And then have the little sign show up when I'm actually cooking.

Hey there @haphazard-hstead, thanks so much for your compliments of my photos! I'm blessed to live in such a beautiful place and have such lovely people in my life :-)

It's music to my ears to hear you're eager to join in again, I love your recipes and find them inspirational for my own life. Absolutely, you don't have to put a sign in your foraging photos... Just in enough of the cooking photos so everyone can see they're genuinely yours... though I know you well enough by now to say with certainty you're trustworthy!!! See you soon!

Welcome back my Dear, I am so happy to see your post. I love all your beautiful photos and I am glad you had such a lovely time with your family. And of course I am excited that SCC is back!!! I may even join again lol. Well just here and there, when I find time. I am really curious what will be the first theme 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you Lena, I would love you to join in if ever you find the time. It's always so pleasant to read your comments... they have a 'soothing' quality and I'm not sure why! Perhaps you were my therapist in a previous life or something!!!

Your comments have the same effect on me my DEAR!!! Not to mention you are much better writer then I am lol. But thank you so much, you've just put a big smile on my face 😊

Aw that makes me happy Lena! :-)

Welcome back. Beautiful pics of an epic few weeks it seems. Love the forest cat... and to me the clouds look like an iron ;) Looking forward to seeing the new look.

Oh yeah, I see your iron! Isn't it fun to name the cloud shapes hehe!

Thanks for the 'welcome back', I have missed you all and can't wait to get going again :-)

All of these photos are so beautiful! Great you had such a fantastic time!

Thanks so much @pusteblume, I appreciate that! :-)

Oh, I love that digital-detox phrase!

It's true. I have done it for months at a time. I even tossed the phone aside but still had the house phone. Does anyone have one of those anymore except for me?

I can tell you that it made me realize just how much I was online and taking away from real life at sometimes!

And on the other hand, it gave me a clear vision on thing - being away.

Your pictures are so heartwarming and delightful. I love the kitty perched on the forest moss, the warm, crackling fire and the surrounding the beauty of nature.

Thank you and welcome back!
!

What a lovely comment @dswigle, thank you! It's refreshing actually to hear from someone else who hasn't merged with their phone like it's an extra limb... The amount of people these days who literally walk into me as they're paying more attention to their phone than where they're going, it's crazy! Do you think these people remember to eat or do housework when they're at home?! I think taking regular breaks is healthy... as you say it takes away from real life.

Well, cheers to you @dswigle and many thanks for the welcome back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38