STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Watermelon Ceviche

Hi everyone since this week is a Vegan challenge

I just worked out a second entry :)

Because I was hungry and I wanted to replicate two of my favorite

sea food dishes: Ceviche and Sushi

114.jpg

Hopefully, You ladies and gentleman will like it :)


For this we will need:



075.jpg

Watermelon

Cucumber

Cilantro

Lime

Red Onion

Tomatoes

and Spice (in this case Habanero and Serrano)


I swear this recipe taste so good and is super easy to make

It is so refreshing and hydrating especially for this hot summer California days

Let's get on it since I feel I have to submit this entry couple hours ago :D

076.jpg

I got this beautiful organic watermelon at the store, so I thought why not to use it for a delicious

and fresh "ceviche".


077.jpg

So we will peel this bad boy and again break it down to a manageable size.

Actually, that is one of the reasons why I love making ceviche because is so simple

to make and has Lime, lots of Lime hahaha as Mexican

I LOVE LIME

078.jpg

Once broken down we do a small cube, uniform and easy to eat :D

onion collage.jpg

We move onto the onion, This is how they teach us to break down an onion

I think it definitely works and helps a lot to get uniform size pieces

So we cut the top, split, clean the outer layer of skin and then we will

make some horizontal cuts, BE CAREFUL if your knife is too sharp it can go through

easily... and end up in your hand. This cut will give us the height of the cubes.

Then we do some vertical cuts apart from each other to give us the width so try to

make both cuts as even as you can for a beautiful presentation.

086.jpg


Moving on to the cucumber basically is the same operation as the sushi roll :D

ceviche cucumber collage.jpg

Peel, split, strips and cubes or little pieces since they do not look like cubes

hahaha <3

Again super simple and we just need to combine everything at the end!

Cilantro we just need to rinse and chop chop chop

cilantro collage.jpg

a good trick is to make a little ball with it and break it down from there

Remember it will be all mixed in toghether and you don't want huge pieces of cilantro

stuck into your teeth so the smallest the better so we can get all the flavor

but none of the cilantro smile

:D Especially for me with my braces which will be coming out this

September the 13th, Hopefully, is not a Friday hahaha

Wow just 2 days after our anniversary, It will be a sweet present for me :D

chile collage.jpg

And my favorite part the spice!

BE CAREFUL

again, handling this Habanero pepper can be painful if you touch it

and your hand ends up in the wrong place, like your eye or nose

Use gloves, Double gloves if you can something Habanero can be extra hot.

We just want to mince them to the size we want, if you want to make them

a more manageable size so you or whoever is going to eat the ceviche can

pick them up just in case is too hot, Do it!

This is your meal, prepare the way you want to enjoy it :)


I also found this local organic baby tomatoes

103.jpg

That are so sweet and delicious, I got lucky this time of the year I have been able

to find delicious local and organic produce, Heirloom tomatoes my favorites!

I have to post something with them, a tomato stack with basil mmm

Back to the ceviche, we will cut these bad boys into a smaller version of themselves.

104.jpg

They were so good


Final steps to wrap it up!

102.jpg

We will put everything in a bowl and mix it, adding the lime juice of course

I like to add the onion and peppers first to make sure they get covered with the juice

try to break that spiciness of the onion a little bit. I think of it as a head start

for the veggie that needs it the most ;D

105.jpg

Then everything else follows and we mix

106.jpg

I gave it a good stir with a plastic spatula, remember that watermelon is delicate

You have to be it too, We don't want to end up with a spicy tomato watermelon water

hahaha :D



I have some home made crackers to go with it, actually raw vegan crackers

I did not make a how to since they do take couple days in the dehydrator

and I have made them before already but I actually used some fresh organic

produce and flax seeds, You can do them too

one has Beets, Celery, and parsley with some flax meal and flax seed to give

it some body and crunch, remember you have to season it.

You can use wathever you want, the flax meal and seeds are the key, it will

help to bind everything together and when you dry it you will have a cracker.

The other one was made with Kale, Heirloom tomato, Sundried tomatoes and parsley

Flax meal and seeds again, but they are so simple and easy.

Blend everything until you get a pulp then incorporate the whole flax seeds.

You can even throw the meal into the blender but it will make it thick right away.

Don't force your blender! We want no burn appliances here.

108.jpg

ahhaha then you will blame tio :P

109.jpg

after all that blending and incorporating you just need to spread it into a paraplex sheet

and let it dry, Remember to turn it or it will turn into a sour cracker,

you can also remove paraplex if it is dry enough to move.


113.jpg

Well this is it

Thank you for reading and have an awesome day

I love you

Soy tu tio

119.jpg

Sorry but this was actually really good :D ahhaha I ate half of it

Sort:  

So refreshing indeed man! I love how you combine watermelon and tomatoes with cilantro and pepper! Lovely ceviche!
Cheers
@progressivechef

It was really good, that habanero and watermelon went by the hand

Soy tu tio

Hijole! Eres mashin hahaha

ahhaha me rifo no xD

That looks really refreshing and tasty. I bet it was delicious! ;)

Another great entry @tioluis!

Thank you alina <3
Soy tu tio

Hi @tioluis! Thank you for entering the challenge this week! AND TWICE! WOW =D Double the delicious! <3

I used to eat ceviche at least once a day when I was living in Central America so this is a really fun treat to see! Also, really awesome addition with the dehydrated crackers! Yummm... as soon as I get my hands on watermelon, this is going in my tummy! My dehydrator is coming over from the states in the bag of my brother next month! I am so happy =D

no way I'm so happy too, ashahha how cool is that he will bring it!
MMM I love Ceviche, I love Seafood!

I'm sure you will put that dehydrator to work right away

Yes and starting with some crackers for my ceviche ;)

Mmmmmmmm yuuuuum.... what else can I say? :-) This is the kind of thing I love to eat around lunch time, as it's not heavy in the stomach but gives you enough energy for the day. Lovely, simple recipe that anyone could make following your instructions (I like your tips too eg. about handling the pepper). It seems like a good versatile mixture that could be used in tacos or on jacket potatoes etc etc etc. I'm not sure if you got this submitted in time or not, but I'm worn out and brain unable to work out the timings, so lucky for you it's accepted haha :-) Good luck because now I will go find out who the judge has chosen as winners this week!

ahhaha Thanks yeah super easy, maybe inside some bell peppers :D

Congratulations @tioluis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34