Steemit Culinary Challenge #48: Kung Pao LentilssteemCreated with Sketch.

Over the weekend, when I came across Steemit Culinary Challenge's theme for the week - a unique lentils dish that was never seen before - I was so motivated to prepare a meatless dinner, using lentils, one day this week.

I know this dish has to be unique and original. Come think of it, growing up in Asia, lentils was not something we consume. As a matter of fact, I didn't taste my first lentil dish until I moved to Canada. Hence, my initial thought was I must prepare a lentil dish using Asian ingredients just to experiment.

I marinated the idea for a day or two, then the other night, my husband was saying how delicious that Kung Pao Chicken was for our mock 'State Dinner' at home. Well, let me explain - a couple weeks ago, I was inspired by the Chinese State Dinner to welcome Donald Trump at his visit to China. So, I made the exact same dishes, including Kung Pao Chicken, and had our own 'State Dinner' at home. Here is link to my Steemit post in case you are curious:
https://steemit.com/cooking/@steemit-foodie/trump-s-state-dinner-in-china-and-me-serving-state-dinner-in-the-comfort-of-my-own-home-part-2-of-3

When my husband said that, I knew that I need to use lentils to make this dish that he kept talking about. Long story short, that's how I came up with this dish - Kung Pao Lentils:

IMG_20171128_202546.jpg

Ingredients:

Lentils:
1 cup dry green lentils
3 cups water
Pinch of salt

Sauce:
3 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tsp vegan hoisin sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
2 tsp cornstarch
3 tbsp water

Vegetables:
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 onion
3 red chilies
1/2 cup cashews
2 cloves of garlic
ginger
1 red bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
1/2 cup celery

IMG_20171128_193738.jpg

Instructions:

Cook the Lentils: Combine lentils with water and salt in a saucepan. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook for 20 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Make the sauce: combine all the ingredients into a bowl. Mix well and set aside.

Cook the veggies: Heat oil in a skillet, add onion and chilies. Then add celery, ginger, garlic, peppers and mix well. Add cashews, cooked lentils and the sauce and mix well. Reduce heat and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until the sauce thickens.

Serve with cooked rice or other grains of choice.

IMG_20171128_193842.jpg

IMG_20171128_200528.jpg

IMG_20171128_195716.jpg

IMG_20171128_200319.jpg

IMG_20171128_201537.jpg

IMG_20171128_202026.jpg

The whole meal, including rice, was prepared in 30 minutes. I cooked the lentils first, then rice in a rice cooker. Then, I chopped the veggies and prepared the sauce, while listening to some music. When the lentils were almost done, I cooked the vegetables, add the lentils and sauce and cooked for a few minutes.

Seriously, it was such an easy peasy and healthy meal and I was happy with the outcome - Think spice from the chilies, crunchy peppers, celery and cashews and earthy lentils. Perfect combo! My family really enjoyed our dinner tonight, and I hope you would give it a try as well.

IMG_20171128_202546.jpg

Sort:  

funny how you came up with this idea. i doubt trump would like lentils though, lol

Haha - maybe not!

Looks fab @steemit-foodie! I love the photos, so bright and fresh looking they really highlight the nutritional qualities of this dish! I adore the combination of lentils and cashews for texture, brought alive by tasty veggies and flavourings, and served with soft fluffy rice.... mmmmmm... my kind of meal! This is a wonderful creation and I wish you good luck for the judging! :-)

Thank you @woman-onthe-wing - I had fun this week, it was challenging but I love the challenge!

Good Food...
photography Nicely

Thanks @sufian143 - Love taking food photos. I sometimes go back to them to remember what I ate, lol.

This is such a great and unique take on lentils! I would never have thought to do kung pow lentils, and here you've done a beautiful lentil rendition of this spicy classic!

thanks dear! I know, thanks to Trump's state dinner in China, which gave me the idea, lol. BTW, I wonder if he likes Kung Pao chicken or not. Heard he loves steak with tomato sauce!

Looks really tasty! A great meatless kung pao dish. If I can find all the ingredients here in Spain I will be giving this a try! I'm following you now, looking forward to seeing more inspiring recipes from you in the future :)

Great - Would love to hear how it turns out for you and thanks for your kind words!

WoW - Thank you so much. I really enjoyed the lentil theme!

Congrats on 3rd place in the challenge

Thanks so much @gringalicious for the generous donation to the challenge. It was such a fun experience and I love the lentil theme. BTW, I am a big fan of your blog!!

Is the lentil completion over already?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58702.17
ETH 2301.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46