STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #8 - La Pasta Perfetta: Fettuccine with bacon and mushrooms

I like pasta with some kind of protein and vegetables...and most important, not difficult or time-consuming!

This weekend we've traveled to a close city, where my boyfriend lived when a child. He spent his day occupied with sports activity and told me, "make yourself at home!"

And I did!

I previously decided what I would cook (simple recipe) and brought the ingredients from home. The fresh ones I just bought in a local store.

I cooked this fettuccine with bacon and mushrooms for lunch!

Here's the ingredients and the step by step:

Ingredients

  • Fettuccine pasta
  • 130 g of bacon
  • 200 g fresh mushrooms
  • 1 small onion (I only had medium, so I used half of it)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • olive oil
  • bay leaf
  • sea salt and black pepper (to taste)
  • parmesan cheese

Preparation

  1. Unpeel the onion and garlic, and cut into pieces. Add it to a pan with a small amount of olive oil and let it cook for a while.

  2. Then add the bay leaf and the bacon. Let it fry till the bacon it is golden brown.

  3. Meanwhile, add water to another pan to boil. Prepare the mushrooms: unpeel, wash and cut. (I know it might not be the smartest thing to do to mushrooms, but I bought them in the supermarket and don't know who and how many people touched them before. I feel more secure unpeeling them...).

  4. Add the mushrooms to the bacon and cover. Let it cook for 10 minutes in a low/medium fire. After 5 minutes season with salt and pepper and stir. Add the fettuccine to the salted and boiling water and let it cook for 7 minutes, till al dente.

  5. Drain the pasta water and add it to the bacon and mushrooms preparation. Mix gently and let the pasta get flavored.

  6. It's ready to serve!! I love parmesan cheese, so I sprinkled the pasta with this one!! Also made a lettuce salad.

This time it was difficult to have a picture of me and the plate...this was my best try!

Hope you enjoyed this meal!

P.S. - Thanks to the steemitculinarychallenge sponsors and to @ englishtchrivy for promoting this weekly challenge!

Sort:  

Hi @lilina.durante here comes the Judge! Thanks a lot for your entry it looks great!

First of all I want to let you know that overall your post looks the best (so far)
in terms of graphics and lay-out. Although that is not a requirement for the judging it doesn't hurt your chances that's for sure! I also like the fact that you told a little story at the opening. Nice touch!

Simplicity: This looks quick and easy while also being, I'm sure tasty! I think that I could definitely cook this and in no time at all.

Presentation: Your photos look great. I love the fact that you took the time to group them together in some cases and they are close to what you might see in a cooking magazine.

I think that I see a prize in your future!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

The final meal looks great with the chunks of mushroom, bacon, and the final topping of cheese. As I have commented previously to other contestants I'd like to see another splash of color as a garnish. For example a sprig of basil or a tiny cherry tomato. The Old Dog like it classy!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks for your comments!! Very appreciated!! Unfortunately i don't have time to Cook another pasta for the challenge, i know one or two easiest recipes and would make it preatier :)

I make something similar without the mushrroms - it's called spaghetti
carbonarra. Your recipe looks really yummy too.

I also love carbonara but never cooked it (yet). I didn't know it was that easy, I saw another entrie on this challenge that makes it seems very accessible! Thanks for commenting :)

Gorgeous food post and great entry into the competition. Good luck! So glad I am not the judge!!

So nice of you, thank you very much!! :)

Belíssimas fotos e uma delícia a receita @liliana.duarte. Sem palavras, muito bom. Parabéns :)

Obrigada @jsantana! Agora só me falta o Sunday Cook...Amanhã ou 3ª feira!

@liliana.duarte glad to see you joined again and with that great big smile with your entry.
Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53