STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #6 : Grilled Nile perch with boiled peeled potatoes and saladsteemCreated with Sketch.

I've been to cook this grilled fish about 2 or 3 weeks ago (basically, since the weather got colder, and I've started to use the fireplace), but I didn't found the perfect time (or motivation) before, so this challenge came just in time!

I really love grilled fish, actually, it's one of my favorite dishes! I prefer it grilled on coal, so this was the way I want to cook for the Challenge #6!

Ingredients

  • 2 Nile perch steaks
  • 6 small/ medium potatoes
  • Sea salt (to taste)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • olive oil for potatoes seasoning
  • juice of one lemon
  • butter

Salad

  • lettuce (for a big salad)
  • 1 small onion

Preparation

  1. Prepare a fire to get charcoal to grill

  2. Wash the fish steaks under cold, running water

  3. Lightly salt the fish steaks with coarse sea salt

  4. Meanwhile, wash the potatoes and boil it with the unpeeled garlic clove in previously salted water, until a fork is easily inserted. (Yes, I cooked the potatoes with the peel!) Put aside.

  5. Wash the lettuce and onion. Prepare the salad with these two ingredients, and put aside.

  6. When the coals are ready, lay the fish steaks on the grill rack directly above the coals. Grill for about 5 -7 minutes. Turn and grill another 5 -7 minutes.

  7. Peel the potatoes and season the salad to taste (I used olive oil, vinegar, salt, and oregano)

  8. Remove the fish and place on a large heated platter (I just put the plate close to the fireplace). For extra flavor, use a little butter and lemon juice. Alternatively, you can simply drizzle it with olive oil.

  9. Serve immediately with the potatoes drizzled with olive oil, and with the salad.

Nile perch is an amazing fish to grill because it has some fat, the enough amount to leave it juicy. It gets even better with the lemon and butter sauce.

What it tastes like?

The Nile perch has a delicate taste, mild flavor along with a firm and flaky texture. The potatoes add an extra flavor accent and texture, all because they were cooked with the peel. My salad always tastes a little more vinegar, I absolutely love that acid flavor, complemented with onion and oregano to enrich our palate. This time I've chosen a cold beer to complement this meal, I was really needing something cold after all the heat from the charcoal.

Every time I eat grilled fish, I feel very good (in a healthier way). A lot of pleasure with simple flavors, it's just perfect​!!

P.S. - Thanks to the steemitculinarychallenge sponsors, without this initiative I probably wouldn't have​ such a great super tonight!

Sort:  

super awesome, super duper fantastic food post. Wow, I wish I could sink a fork into that right now. Good luck in the competition, so glad I am not the judge.

OMG!! Thank you very much!! This coming from you means really a lot :)

It was delicious, sad it's over! ;)

You will have to make extra next time :)

Yes, you're right, but I shouldn't. These ones were already big! :)

@liliana.duarte Congratulations!

so, I wonder, did you focus on what you want?

Thanks to you all! So nice :)

@liliana.duarte that looks delicious, did you grill on your fire place?
I ate a fish similar to this it's called merluza in Calpe and I cleaned it to the bones :)
Good luck!

Yes, it was grilled on the fireplace! I eat all too, only bones left ;)

@liliana.duarte very creative!
It looks delicious!
Steem on!

Thank you very much! It was really good, indeed, and the potatoes cooked like this got this meal to another level :p

Excellent entry!

We will see what the judge thinks!

Thanks @papa-pepper! :)

Let's wait and see! I think it will be tuff ... already upvoted some of the other entries.

This looks really good Liliana....I wish I lived nearby - I'd get you to cook for me....Sunday - Sunday :)

Ahah, thanks! That's a huge compliment! :)

Congrats on your win!!!! Just saw you received 2nd place!!

Thanks you! It's really cool:)

Congrats on 2nd place. So glad I was not the judge!

Haha, thanks!! If there is a challenge on chocolate you must be the judge. I'm in the mood for a chocolate mousse, guess it's for Tomorrow ;)

Congratulations on the culinary challenge. Your fish looked so good! And you know how to make a nice bed of coals for cooking on, for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55