STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #11 Quinoa and Sweet Potato BurgersteemCreated with Sketch.

I started cooking quinoa last year, it's an amazing ingredient, very versatile!

I don't remember when I discovered this "Hambúrgueres de quinoa e batata-doce" recipe, but since the first try that this burger began a frequent meal at our place!!

The original recipe uses parmesan cheese (wich I love), but since this is a Cheeseless Burger Challenge...why not give it a try and leave the cheese out of this burger!? I made other changes too!

I paid extra attention to the quantities and in the final, I think it resulted just fine!!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 cup of bread crumbs
  • a small bunch of coriander
  • 1 egg
  • olive oil, salt and black pepper (to taste)

Preparation

  1. Add the cup of water to a pan and cook the quinoa. Season with salt. Set aside to cool.
    (I cooked the quinoa this afternoon)
  2. Chop the onion and sweet potato into cubes. Add it to a frying pan with olive oil and season with salt and black pepper. Let it cook on​ medium fire for about 12 minutes. Stir it frequently.
  3. While the potato cook, wash and finely chop the coriander, unpeel the garlic, chop the bread. Add the quinoa to a big bowl and add the bread crumb, coriander, and egg. Mix it all.
  4. Finely chop the garlic cloves and add it to the sweet potato. Let it cook for 30 seconds and turn the fire off. Smash the potato mixture with a fork.
  5. Finally, add the sweet potato mixture to the quinoa and mix well. It's time to form the burgers.
  6. Fry the burger with olive oil (not much), turn the burgers after 3-4 minutes.
  7. It's time to serve!!

We always have this burger on the plate with a huge green leaf salad. For this STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE I choose a sugar beet leaves salad.

One of my favorite thing on this burger is the garlic flavor and the small crunchy quinoa grains!

All the photos are original, except the sugar beet link from Wikipedia


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

@liliana.duarte although I can't see the pics now maybe there's a glitch - I saw this offline on mobile and felt like logging in - only I was too busy today attending on to something.

I appreciate your great efforts of showing a clear walk through backed up with clear pictures that makes it clear to even non English readers on how to do this burger.

I love sweet potato and the combination of garlic, onion and coriander would really make this taste and smell meaty though its actually vegetarian so I wish you good luck!

Thank you!!

This doesn't smell meaty, but the garlic smell is one of my favorite in this recipe as it doesn't get​ totally cooked!

Just my ideal food and very healthy too.

Thank you! Glad you liked it :) I only can assure this was good...even without parmesan cheese :)

Beautiful post, good luck in the competition.

Thank you!! Later I will enter again with another burger ;)

Fantastic, I look forward to it. I love all of these new ideas

Very interesting entry! Yummy and healthy!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thank you so much!! It's really a great recipe!
I made a 2nd entry . I guess you will love the salad this time :) It's plenty of colors :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48