STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #42 - MINI BUNS 🌸💖🌸

This is my first time I ever made buns or anything with rise dough, so I decided to play safe and I chose the very basic recipe making only four small buns, just in case. I wasn’t sure how they will turn out until I took the first bite. Luckily they were pretty good and I was able to eat them. I really hate throwing food in the trash, so I am quite proud of my first buns. Nevertheless, they are not my claim to fame, so the speak lol. I guess I can say they were an experiment.

2.jpg

In the future I would like to make sourdough bread, which is actually very healthy. It is the way real bread is made and they are European bakeries in Canada who still make them. It is quite a lengthy process because it takes at least five days just to make the starter. Well, will see if I can do it.

1.jpg

1 Collage.jpg

2 ollage.jpg

MINI BUNS
Vegan Buns with Sunflower seeds
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 4 Buns
• All-purpose organic unbleached flour 1 ½ cup
• Plant based milk ¼ cup
• Warm water ¼ cup (filtered)
• Cold pressed coconut oil 1tbs(melted)
• Organic raw coconut sugar 1tsp
• Active dry yeast ½ tsp
• 1/2 flax egg (1/2 tbs flaxseed meal with 1/1/2 tbs water)
• Himalayan pink salt ½ tsp
• Olive oil 2tbs

PROCESS
• In the bowl, mix the yeast with the warm water and set aside until dissolved.
• In a separate bowl, whisk the non-dairy milk, flaxseed, coconut oil, sugar and salt.
• When ready, add the mixture to the yeast mixture and mix thoroughly.
• Add the flour to the mixture and mix well until you get shaggy dough.
• Knead well for 10 minutes. You can use standing mixer on low speed if you have
one. (The finished dough should be smooth, feel slightly tacky and spring back when poked).
• Cover with clean towel and let the dough rise in a warm spot until doubled in size (approximately one hour).
• When ready, dust your work area with a little bit of flour and place the dough in the middle.
• Divide the dough into 4 pieces and form each piece into a ball.
• Place the balls onto a baking sheet and let them rise until they look puffy (approximately 30 - 40 minutes).
• Brush the olive oil it over the buns and sprinkle with sunflower seeds. You may add pinch of salt if you like.
• Bake the buns at 375 degree for approximately 15 - 20 minutes until golden.
• Let the buns cool at room temperature before serving.

Note: To preserve the freshness for more then one day, I would suggest to store them in the freezer, properly sealed.

3.jpg

Special thanks to @woman-onthe-wing, @gringalicious, @sirwinchester for their ongoing support and generosity and our very dear judge of the week @jaymorebeet.

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/lenas-vegan-living-blog

Sort:  

Apologies for the delay in acknowledging your entry Lena. These buns look really lovely! Even though you haven't made them before and perhaps not such a confident bread-baker yet, they turned out really well from the look of them. Beautiful seeded texture on top, beautiful fluffy crumb inside... perfect with soup and stews, and I imagine they'd make wonderful burger-buns too (I'm thinking vegan/veggie not meat but each to their own!) Or even as a simple snack with a little something spread on top... yummy :-) You're right that sourdough is a much healthier option than other kinds, and is my preferred choice of bread too, and if you do end up making it sometime for your blog please do draw my attention to it!

No need to apologize Dear @woman-onthe-wing, I can imagine how challenging must be to keep up with all the entries you getting.......... in addition to your personal life. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. You have a gift to describe everything so well and I agree, these buns would be perfect with soup or stew. I have few older recipes on my blog I just thought of when I was reading your comment. I make delicious soups and even vegan stew, mainly at wintertime. Nevertheless, I will also try to make the sourdough at the beginning of next year when the weather is at its worst here in Canada and the best thing is to stay home to do some baking lol. Thank you so much and have a wonderful rest of the week 🌸💖🌸

Warm buns, that's what I love!

Thank you so much 🌸💖🌸

Looks delicious!

Thank you so much 🌸💖🌸

Hey what a great post on buns! I love your style, and will follow you, and be back to get more appetizing tips. Thanks!

they look amazing Lena!!

Thank you so much Shaun 🌸💖🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59514.13
ETH 2652.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42