Steemit Culinary Challenge #40 - Alfajores with Homemade Dulce de Leche

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Culinarians! Today I present to you my entry for the Mexican edition of the Steemit Culinary Challenge, graciously hosted by @woman-onthe-wing!


For the Mexican theme, I made Alfajores (alpha-HOR-ays), a traditional cookie found in Mexico and other Latin countries. I made regular-sized and mini baby-sized Alfajores too! (I'll call them Alfajorecitos!) :)

JI6A5160.JPG

dJI6A5163.jpg


These cookies use a combination of flour and cornstarch, which results in silky smooth crumbly dough.

Between two of the simple, not-too-sweet shortbread cookies nestles a sticky layer of dulce de leche (DOOL-say day LEH-chay).

JI6A5173.JPG

Dulce de leche is a combination of milk and sugar (and vanilla) that is reduced for hours to become a sticky, toffee-like, creamy caramel-like confection that is beyond words. I have plenty left over after making these Alfajores, which will go marvelously swirled into vanilla ice cream or stirred into coffee...

But back to this week's entry, here's the run down:

Dulce de Leche

Ingredients

  • 4 cups milk (I used 2%)
  • 1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 t baking soda

0JI6A5114.jpg

Directions

  • Combine all of the ingredients in a medium saucepan.
  • Bring to a boil, then reduce and simmer until the entire mixture thickens until it is a bit looser than caramel.

dulce de leche.jpg

It took several hours to reduce the Dulce de Leche all the way. I took a break somewhere in the middle to take a trip to Home Depot!

5JI6A5147.jpg

dJI6A5153.jpg


Let's pause for a Cookie Photo Interlude

JI6A5158.JPG

JI6A5159.JPG

dJI6A5169.jpg

JI6A5161.JPG


Alfajores cookies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c all purpose flour
  • 1 c corn starch
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/2 c butter, salted
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 egg yolks

0JI6A5120.jpg

Directions

  • Stir together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, baking powder in one bowl.
  • Using a hand mixer, combine the egg yolks, sugar, butter, and vanilla.
  • Gradually incorporate the flour mixture into the butter-egg-sugar mixture until combined.
  • Form into a ball and wrap in plastic before putting it in the refrigerator to chill all the way through.
  • Once cool, take the dough and roll it out on a floured counter or table top until it's 1/3 to 1/4 inch thick.
  • Use cookie cutters to cut discs, or get fancy and make some mini circles, hearts, or other shapes.

cookies.jpg

  • Bake at 350°F for 10-15 minutes, depending on your oven, until the cookies are baked through but not browned.

baked.jpg

  • Once cooled, assemble the Alfajores by sandwiching two cookies with cooled Dulce de Leche.

JI6A5162.JPG

JI6A5167.JPG


JI6A5158.JPG


A huge thanks to the host of this contest, @woman-onthe-wing, and the generous sponsors @gringalicious, @englishtchrivy, @sirwinchester, @rebeccaryan, and our guest judge @tioluis.



Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on September 2, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Oh my............I can tell they are super delicious. UPV & RSD 🌸💖🌸

Thanks @lenasveganliving!! They are light and crumbly for sure! Thanks for your support, I appreciate it!!

Love melt-in-the-mouth cookies.. Great job making such appetizing cookie sandwiches!! Looks simply mouth-watering! Especially with that homemade dulce de leche =)

Exactly! Thanks @foodie-warrior. There is no replacement for dulce de leche in my life. I'm new to discovering it, but I'm in love for life!!

hehe..have you tried making salted caramel? I love that so much!

WoW never tried that...here in Spain he we have alfajores for Christmas, but are a bit diferentes.. great post!

How are the ones in Spain different from these? I've seen some with coconut around the edges and some dipped in chocolate!! I'd love to see a recipe from where you live! Thanks @jorgegp!

What an entry again my friend! You always surprise me with your awesome recipes!
I just love Dulce de Leche, hmmm! Long to make but definitely worth it!
Good luck my friend!
@progressivechef

Oh @progressivechef you're so kind! Thanks!! Dulce de leche is SO GOOD! It definitely is worth the wait!

It looks so tasty! You make me remember the Moroccan cake call it sable with jam ,just last time i made it, it was very yummy, i like this kind of cakes easy and we can serve it with tea.

Thanks @creativewoman. Yes these would be perfect with tea or coffee- very delicate and light!

You have my vote! Love dulce de leche. Cookies, ice cream. You name it. 🐓🐓

I have so much left over! I'm going to need to get some vanilla (or coffee??) ice cream pronto!

Oh! That is a tough choice! Either one thank you! 🐓🐓

Congrats on 4th place in SCC #40. Very well done food post!

Thanks so much for your support and kind words @gringalicious!

These look so tasty. I can imagine having a couple (or more) with a cup of hot tea. Yum! Good Luck @jaymorebeet.

Thanks @lrich - yes, a cup of tea or coffee is definitely in order with these little cookies!

Nice post @jaymorebeet and best of luck in the contest.

With a little powdered sugar on top, they'd remind me kind of like a Mexican version of a linzer tart.

And if the Girl Scouts started selling these, then I'd be buying more Girl Scout cookies!!! Although I must admit, I do like their thin mints.

Thanks @cognoscere! Some people coat alfajores in chocolate! There's always next time. They are in a different category from the thin mints, so there is no need to compare. Go for it and have both :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58656.89
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48