STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #36: Baked Sauerkraut Balls

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

sauerkraut 14.jpg

Hello friends,

It's me again, back for SCC #36 with the theme: Food Fit For A German! This German-inspired food is dedicated for my good German friends who I met when I was living in France and also for our judge @ch00fy. I lived in two different cities in France and in both cities, Marseille and Bordeaux, I always made friends with people from Germany and we're getting along until now!! Even though now we have our separate way, we still keep in touch :-)

At first I wanted to make Black Forest Cake which is originally from Germany but I've just made chocolate cake recently, so I needed to come up with another idea. Then I remember seeing sauerkraut in my favorite organic shop from where I got the idea to make this delicious snack.

The recipe was inspired from here and I modified some of the ingredients.

Ingredients

  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 280 gr Frankfurt sausages, cut into little pieces
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil
  • 500 gr drained sauerkraut
  • 2 tbsp bread crumbs
  • 200 gr cream cheese
  • 3 small sticks celery, chopped
  • 2 tsp mustard
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup panko
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 milk

sauerkraut 1.jpg

Methods

  • Heat cooking oil in a pan over medium high heat, stir fry chopped onion for a minute. Add in sausages, cook for about 5 minutes, set aside.

sauerkraut 2.jpg

  • In a large clean bowl, place sauerkraut, cream cheese, bread crumbs, celery, mustard, salt and pepper. Mix it well.

sauerkraut 3.jpg

  • Add in stir fried onion sausages to the mixture. Mix again.

sauerkraut 4.jpg

  • Once mixed, cover with plastic wrap and chill for at least one hour.

sauerkraut 5.jpg

  • In a small bowl, beat two eggs and milk. In two small bowls, put all purpose flour and panko separately.

sauerkraut 6.jpg

  • Preheat oven to 190°C and line baking tray with baking silicone mat or parchment paper. Scoop one full tablespoon of the mixture, form the into a ball.

sauerkraut 7.jpg

  • Coat with flour.

sauerkraut 8.jpg

  • Dip into egg-milk mixture.

sauerkraut 9.jpg

  • Coat with panko. In this stage, the sauerkraut balls can be frozen if you make a large batch. Thaw it overnight before baking.

sauerkraut 10.jpg

  • Place the sauerkraut balls onto baking tray.

sauerkraut 11.jpg

  • Bake for 20 minutes and then I put the tray under broiler to give a nice color to the balls for 2 minutes. Please do check often to prevent burning.

sauerkraut 12.jpg

Actually, we can deep fry this sauerkraut balls and you'll have nicer golden brown color. But this time I opted for the healthier version so I baked it. I serve these goodness with mustard and hot chili sauce.

sauerkraut 13.jpg

Ooops, before I forget, I'd like to thank everyone involved in SCC; the host, the sponsors, the previous and the current judges, also fellow contributors. Let's make SCC grow bigger :-)

If you like this post, please upvote and resteem :-)

Many thanks,
signature-fonts

Sort:  

Hello @ ikaputri3! Wow just amazing these sauerkrautballs, very original and you brought it to another level! I just love the idea of baking instead of frying!
Good luck for the challenge!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Many thanks @progressivechef for your compliment! It means a lot :-) I haven't seen your entry this week. I guess our chef is so busy preparing loads of yummy food :-D

Unfortunately I will not be able to participate this week @ikaputri3! Been quite busy this week! Maybe next time!

Hmm sauerkraut. It so good for you and what an original way to use it! Good luck ;)

Yes, I've just found out recently its benefits while searching for German food ideas. Thank you @amy-goodrich for your support! :-)

Extremely interesting recipe !! Very creative! Good luck in the challenge 😉
@ch00fy

Thank you very much @ch00fy! It became one of my fav snacks now :-)

I would put that on my next bar snacks menu excellent idea

That's a great idea! I'd do that as well :-D

Beautiful entry @ikaputri3... again I am stunned by the quality of presentation and how perfect your food looks!!! You really should be doing this professionally! I like how you opted for baking instead of deep frying, and actually I like the way it looks with the golden patches, even though frying would give an even golden colour, I think baking this way looks more rustic and homemade. Since it's quite a process to make these, I guess they could be made in large batches and frozen? It's great you chose to use sauerkraut... In Germany they eat many more fermented foods in their diets than we do here in Ireland, and it's soooo good for you! Often people dismiss it because they don't like the look of it, which is a shame. Excellent recipe, and thanks for mentioning the source it was based on :-) Good luck Putri!

Million thanks Joanna for your nice words and for your support! I'd love to do it professionally, I should really think about it :-) You're right, it looks more homemade and rustic in a beautiful way. Oh yeah, I forgot to write in the post that it can be frozen when the mixture are rolled and coated. I should add this in the post. Thanks for reminding me. In Indonesia, there's a lot of fermented food which one of them, that you may have heard, is tempeh, fermented soja. I love it very much. Thanks again and again for sharing the importance of eating healthy food :-)

I'm familiar with tempeh although I've never actually tried it! I really want to learn lots more and eat more fermented foods. I wasn't aware they're popular in Indonesia but that's great to hear :-) I'd love to see some recipes & photos if ever you are making anything using fermented ingredients! And if you do post any, please send me a link in case I miss it!

Everyone in Indonesia eats it because it's good and inexpensive. I wrote one recipe for tempeh at the beginning of my Steemit journey. Other than that, you can also make burger tempeh, skewer and nugget etc. Voilà some ideas that came up for tempeh :-)

I love sauerkraut and this is a great recipe that can be easily veganized. I will save it into my file Ika. Upvoted 😊

Yes, this recipe can be veganized. Thanks for passing by @lenasveganliving! Your creation does look amazing as well :-)

Oh! Those sound really good!

This is my first time making this and it's really good! :-) Thanks for passing by @melinda010100!

Wow what a great post and recipe idea @ikaputri3! Upvoted and resteemed! :)

Million thanks @alinalisa! You should also join this challenge because your creations are just amazing! I'm sure you will have a lot of fun ;-)

Maybe I will find time to make a German dish this week. Thank you for your encouragement @ikaputri3! :)

The deadline of German-inspired food theme is tomorrow. But you may check the new theme every Friday! :-)

Thats something new to try out ! excellent recipe ! well done @ikaputri3 good luck to the challenge ! :)

If you like sauerkraut, it's worth a try! Thanks @rouketas for stopping by :-)

Fabulous recipe @ikaputri3, congratulations on winning 4th place!

Thanks @woman-onthe-wing! Next round will be so challenging! Hope I can participate :-)

I'm certain you'll have no trouble creating something healthy and tempting @ikaputri3!

Congratulations!
I love some good sauerkraut I don't know about frying it but I would definitely love to try one of this!
They look great
Soy tu tio

Thanks and congrats to you too! You really deserve it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33