STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 32: Pesto Toast with Strawberry and Mini Mozzarela

Hello everyone,

This is my first time participating Steemit Culinary Challenge. I was told by a friend, the one who introduced me to Steemit. And then, when I wrote an introduction post, @woman-onthe-wing commented and mentioned about this challenge. I was so motivated and was thinking that it's doable. But then, I got so busy until today!!! And I realized that I wont make it but I tried anyway. I'm so sorry judge (@rebeccaryan) and sponsors if it's too simple, I tried my best.

So, here is my version of "Picnic Alfresco" :-)

Pesto Toast with Strawberry and Mini Mozzarela

1498590739414.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 cup strawberry, strawberry is now in season in Belgium and these one are from Wépion, Belgian's strawberry capital :-D It is located 57 km from Brussels, where I live
  • some toasted bread, you may use any kind of bread
  • 1 cup mini mozzarela
  • 1/4 pesto (recipe below)

PESTO

  • 2 cups fresh basil leaves, I used my homegrown basil
  • 1/4 cup grated Pecorino Romano
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 pine nuts
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste (no salt, because the cheese is already salty)
  • ice cubes

1498589818978.jpg

1498589749589.jpg
My homegrown organic basil

Method for PESTO

  • place the basil leaves and pine nuts into food processor, pulse several times
    1498589862595.jpg

1498589947489.jpg

  • add the cheese and garlic, pulse again several times
    1498590372192.jpg
  • while the food processor is running, pour the olive oil slowly, pulse it and then add in fresh ground black pepper and ice cubes (it helps in keeping the green color of pesto)
    1498590474706.jpg

Pesto is done :-)

ASSEMBLE
Spread each toast with pesto, top with strawberry slices and mini mozzarela
1498590510773.jpg

1498590880901.jpg

I have signed up in Steemit Chat but I couldn't find Steemit Culinary Challenge channel so I don't post the link there, hope it's okay :-)

The recipe is inspired by:
https://www.instagram.com/rushyama/?hl=en

Pesto recipe is taken from:
http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/fresh_basil_pesto/

Sort:  

It looks as delicious as it looks colorful. Great pictures!

Thanks a lot @ulys! :-)

It looks great and the photos are very beautiful! Thanks for the recipe.

Merci beaucoup! :-) C'est très facile à faire si tu veux essayer la recette.

Oui c'est nickel pour l'été je vais essayé ça ce week-end avec les tomates et basilic du jardin. A+

  • les fraises désolé... ;-)

Haha.. pas de soucis! Tu peux aussi mettre da la tomate si tu veux ;-)

my mouth is watering.
good one...!!!

Thanks! This is easy if you want try to make it yourself ;-)

mmm good job, that pesto looks amazing!

It is amazing! I put more cheese in there :-D

Absolutely gorgeous entry @ikaputri3!
Clean, fresh, local, homegrown, uncomplicated, beautiful pictures! Well done and welcome to Steemit!
I am happy to follow you. ;)

I woke up and read your very nice comment, you just made my day! I'm so happy :-) Many thanks for the appreciation and for following me. I already followed you since I knew that you're the judge for this week's challenge :-)

Oh, I am so glad that made your day and I'm looking forward to reading your posts.

Congratulations @ikaputri3! Please check your wallet for your prize. :)

Many thanks @rebeccaryan! The prize is well received :-)

Wow what a fantastic first entry for the Steemit Culinary Challenge @ikaputri3! (Sorry for this delayed acknowledgement but I have been very busy today!) There have been problems with Steemit Chat lately so don't worry about posting your entry there. I have never had strawberries with pesto before, but I'm going to try it after seeing your photos, it looks absolutely delicious! And stunning presentation, I'm very impressed :-) Thank you @ikaputri3!

Thanks for the acknowledgement @woman-onthe-wing! Glad that you're impressed, I appreciate it :-) If you try this recipe, I hope you'll like it :-)

i loved your pesto with strawberry ! good luck to the challenge

I'm so glad that you loved it :-) Thank you for your support and I followed you :-)

You have been awarded a bonus prize from judge @rebeccaryan for such a great entry. Well done @ikaputri3, and I hope to see you next round for the Newbie Special!

Wow!!!! Great news.. I didn't expect to win something from my first SCC! Thanks a million @woman-onthe-wing and @rebeccaryan. I really appreciate it. It really motivates me to participate on the next challenge. Thanks again :-)

Your culinary and photography skills are evident @ikaputri3! Keep Steeming on!! You've got what it takes to be a Steemit success. :)

Thanks for your full support! I'll keep on Steeming :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.54
ETH 3514.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53