STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #40: Horchata de Arroz (sugar-free and vegan)

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hey foodies!

I always wanted to try to make homemade horchata. Now, as the theme of this week's steemit culinary challenge is Mexican food it's the perfect occasion for it.

Horchata made out of rice is a traditional refreshing beverage widely consumed in Mexico and Central America like Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador. Originally, it was made out of tiger nut. The recipe can be traced back right up to to the ancient time of Egypt.

For all the vegans out there: horchata is nothing but rice milk with a touch of cinnamon and a sweeter taste. So, when you decide to make plant milk at home try horchata the next time, to get a Mexican alternative.

Enjoy it ice-cold! It's really delicious and easy to make aswell. You only need to plan it in advance. But, let's get into the recipe already, so I can show you how it's done. ;)

Horachta de Arroz

20170902_111302.jpg

Ingredients

  • 150 g rice
  • 500 ml boiling water
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 500 ml cold water
  • 50 g xylitol
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch of salt

Directions

The day before, cover the rice and the cinnamon stick with the boiling water in a pot. Place the lid on and let it sit over night.

20170901_175956.jpg

20170901_180244.jpg

The next day, remove the cinnamon stick and mix the soaked rice with the water and the rest of the ingredients in a blender until you get a smooth milky consistency.

20170902_104553.jpg

20170902_104759.jpg

Get rid of the solid components by straining the horchata through a cheesecloth.

20170902_105046.jpg

20170902_105221.jpg

Let it cool in the fridge and serve with ice cubes. Enjoy!

20170902_111302.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post!

If so, please don't forget to resteem, upvote and follow me! 😊

Sort:  

Oh rice! I can't live without rice :-D Good way to make something with rice besides steaming it :-D Nice entry @alinalisa! Good luck :-)

Thank you @ikaputri3! I'm looking forward to your entry. :) Good luck!

Yay fellow vegan (?) 💃 Returning the upvote 👍👍 and following you 💕

Great minds think alike 😉 I was thinking to make horchata too 😂 too many goodies from Mexico, so hard to choose what to make 😹😹

Hey @thekitchenfairy!

Former vegan fits more. But I like to eat most of the time vegan. :)

Thank you for your support. I'm following you too, now.

I'm sorry that I came up with the same idea as you. :D Mexico has some awesome sweet recipes. It is really difficult to decide which one to make. I'm excited for your entry and wish you good luck! :)

Oooh I really like the look and sound of this and will be definitely making some for myself! I have had rice milk but never horchata, and I imagine with the cinnamon and vanilla flavours it tastes beautiful. Refreshing too after a spicy Mexican meal! Great recipe @alinalisa, good luck!

Thank you for your lovely comment @woman-onthe-wing! I hope you'll be happy with your result. :)

Thanks for the recipe! It looks delicious.

You're welcome @firepower! And thank you. :)

mmmmmm I love orchata, This is a great post haha and really traditional drink
Good job
Soy tu tio

I'm thrilled that you like the idea of my post @tioluis! Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77