You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💌 Steemit Comment Challenge #8 - $15SBD + 50% $Post Giveaway - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! 💌

in #steemitcommentchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry. I also left the comment on his post. :-)


As far as compassion goes I think Steemit might be the best place on the internet. In other online "communities" I've visited there seems to be so many hateful people. I noticed immediately that for Steemit users that does not seem to be the case. Nine times out of ten, even if the poster and commenters do not agree, they conduct themselves in a civil way. In fact, I'm secretly dreading Steemit becoming more popular, because I know that the welcoming attitudes we have here may degrade.

I guess because the internet gives anonymity people think this gives them license to be awful to each other. That's a real shame. The internet is an amazing tool we can use to spread knowledge and support, and we all need to remember that when we interact with others. Steemit's slogan could totally be "The nicest place on the web". In fact.. I might have to write a post about it. haha

Sort:  

To what degree do you think the monetary reward system shapes the way people behave?

I'm sure that plays a role. Especially since getting flagged can effect your rewards, and if you're nicer then somebody is more likely to up vote your comment. However, based on my time in other communities I attribute it more to the "size effect". Once something becomes famous enough detractors start to move in. I've experienced this on Reddit where small sub-reddits were great communities, but as soon as a sub hit the front page people who had no interest in the actual subject moved in, and the attitude of the sub seriously declined.

Yes, it will be interesting to see how Steemit will change if we will have a 10 times, 100 times bigger community.

Confirmed!
Great comment and best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68