You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 💌 Steemit Comment Challenge #37 - $5 SBD + 2 x 200 SP (1 Week Delegations) - Comment like a Champ, Grow your blog like a Champ!! 💌

Hey, @danielsaori.

I mainly want to say that these kinds of challenges, where anyone of any language is encouraged to engage, will be the means by which STEEM as a social media platform thrives. In reality, we should be engaging for our own best interests, as well as the long term health of the platform, but provide a contest with some prize money and people tend to come to it.

Because English is the predominant language here, other language speakers feel compelled to interact as much as they can, and while that's fine, and perhaps even helpful for those trying to improve their English language abilities, it can also be restricting and counterproductive. Knowing that there are similar contests in their own language that people can support may go towards building areas of STEEM in those languages so there's no longer the need to go into English as much. I think it's good to learn another language, especially English, but it's also a benefit to build up languages to help support those where learning English will be difficult.

It seems to me that among the different languages there are bound to be those who are already leading in some capacity that would be interested in sponsoring or helping in producing contests in those languages. Someone will need to head these up. The natural leaders are a good place to start.

Sort:  

Congratulations on taking home the 2nd prize this week.
I wish you a nice weekend.

Thank you again. I do appreciate what you're doing here. I will do what I can to use the delegation well. :)

Congratulations dear friend for grabbing the second price. Your suggestions were great!

hey, @maxijgcomm.

Well, I'm not sure about my suggestions—they seemed rather obvious to do. I have to agree with you that adding more placings if possible would be great. It looks like potentially more donations are in order then, which means more people need to know about this particular contest. More prize money seems to work pretty well for abh12345's engagement leagues, so hopefully it can be incorporated here, too.

You are absolutely right. The incorporation would be nice.

Confirmed!
That's a great reflection Glen.
I see many people joining this and other contests even though their English is not up to par. I have no problem with that myself, instead, I find it interesting. Sometimes the passion can overcome any language deficiencies and that is something beautiful to witness. :)
But for the growth of STEEM, I think it will probably do more good if people have an option to compete in their own native language. It will help showcase that language on the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63001.43
ETH 3365.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45