Zeke Knows...Jacuzzi Maintenance!

zekeknows1.jpg

One thing I know is that there are things you pay a professional to do, and there are others you must learn to DO YOURSELF! (Don't ask me why those words were capitalized) I wondered which one of those servicing my hot tub fell under. In more detail, it was time to change the bulb on the Clear-ray water management system, the insert for the filter, and a couple more things I would get to if I didn't screw those up. Lets give it a shot and find out.

Remember to cut the power from the source to be safe

IMG_5064.jpg

So, the Clear-Ray system https://www.jacuzzi.com/en-ca/hot-tubs/products/accessories/clearray-uv-c-technology is an Ultra Violet component that augments the sanitation system and makes it so that you have to use less chemicals to keep the water clean. Every couple of years, these UV bulbs have to be changed. I would liken it to changing the oil filter on your car maybe.

IMG_5058.jpg

Time to open the hood.Maybe 20 deck screws keep the side on this thing and 4 screws for the cover on the electric panel. Turns out you don't have to open that panel to replace the Clear-ray bulb.

IMG_5059.jpg

Where the hell is this thing?

IMG_5060.jpg

AHA! There is the little box and the clear ray logo. 4 more screws.

IMG_5061.jpg

IMG_5062.jpg

When you pop that plate off, you can see the connector and the nice rubber boot that helps the bulb stay seated and moisture-resistant. It all pulls apart rather easily and is not unlike changing a video card in a computer.

IMG_5063.jpg

Maybe like pulling the enriched uranium out of the bomb?

IMG_5066.jpg

It is a bit funny but the replacement bulb seems to be a different form factor though basically the same shape and power connector.

In hindsight, I should have put the exciting part later on in this story but it is too late in the evening to go about editing. The rest of the job was rather simple.

IMG_5070.jpg

Another small challenge presented itself in the form of a new ProClear cartridge not fitting the old rod insert and not being packaged with one that fit. Hence, the patented Zeke-Job Frankenstein operation that involved a bit of old school crazy glue (The young ones call it Kraggle.)

IMG_5071.jpg

It sits right in the middle of the filter where the water goes into the filtration system.

text09.png

All in all, maintenance is something worth doing regularly so that you don't have to buy all the supplies at once, and have to do 3 jobs in 1. It is a good way to earn Wife Points© (https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/wife-points) for the record, and was fairly straight forward. If you don't read a follow up post about how I blew circuits or screwed the tub up in some manor, I would say I am an instant expert!

Just in time for some post-snow-shovelling soaking as the winter settles in.......

IMG_5072.JPG

zekepickleman.jpg

What was your do-it-yourself effort this week?

SB_new.png

Sort:  

That's definitely call a professional status for me lol. Good job tho.

I would have thought the same thing but I saw the first step was just a bunch of phillips head screws. So, I got all the parts I thought I needed and went to town. Turned out alright and it is just about up to temperature!

I would not trust myself there. The with the wife points I find totally funny : D

I may be old fashioned, but for me this would be a 'leave it to my husband' job haha xD
BB

Yes as it was left to me. I get to win a little wife points for the work AND get the tub ready for some snow dips. I have to film some Dtube snaps of that to entertain you all!

I love DIY (there's something about going to the hardware store and buying power tools that is good for the ego!), but find I end up more like DIYWY - do it yourself with YouTube. The problem there is that most people on YouTube are DIYers as well, so it quickly becomes the blind leading the blind!

If the professionals charged less for their time, and callout fees, we'd probably let them have more of a shot.

Definitely!
I run a services company so I know the value of leaving some stuff to the experts. I really don’t have time or motivation to become one of those experts but this was fairly straight forward!
YouTube and dtube are such a great resource for instructional videos but I didn’t even have to resort to that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think irony sums up just how easy some jobs actually are, if we just apply ourselves. Tradies must really rely on the stupidity (or timidity) of the general populace.

The other day my daughter Maya told me "don't worry mom I have google." Rules to live by! Lol
Great job though

It really is true.

You don't have to wonder anymore with the google. Also, you can switch from the problem immediately by pulling out your phone and working on the solution! So empowering a tool when used properly.

I still won't get a damn alexa in my house listening to everything and building a database on me though!

😁😁😁 pic.
No knowledge what so ever when it comes to jobs of this nature.
This would be a time that I would have to cash in a couple of chips that I have accumulated over the years lending my skills to others.
I always wonder how a person with a total lack of hands on skills can afford to pay for maintenance or upgrades to their home.
With most construction projects in the metropolitan are where I once parked my hat, labor costs can be roughly calculated as 3 times the material cost.
Every deck I ever built, I would wonder why the customer just didn't do it themselves, and if need be, recruit someone with a little knowledge.
Decks with a material cost of $2000, would go for around $8,ooo.
After a day of pouring the footings, two good men could have it built in 2 days.
Even if you are green, lets say it takes a week, you're saving major bucks, and you have the satisfaction of building something with your own two hands.
Always a head scratcher.

Bonus Wife Points never hurts.

For sure.

I just like to get into it as far as I can before I am over my head. Worse case scenario, I reduce the paid hours needed, best case, Job complete!

My luck would have me mess it up and it would cost me more in the long.

Definitely!

I run a services company so I know the value of leaving some stuff to the experts. I really don’t have time or motivation to become one of those experts but this was fairly straight forward!

YouTube and dtube are such a great resource em for instructional videos but I didn’t have to resort to that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77