You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: National Preparedness Month Series: Keeping Your Pantry Full

I remember my mom only making jellies, but grandma and great grandma were big on food preserving. They loved their gardens and it showed when great grandma would stand proudly with a six foot tall jumbo pink banana squash. It wouldn't go to waste that's for sure. When I married my hubbie and we moved to the country after I finished college... he told me about all these wonderful goodies his mother canned when they grew up on their farm. Being a lover of recipes, I researched and collected the necessary canning equipment to start my water bath canning. It seems like such a long time ago, but we have so much food now I know I can trust to be healthier than what is in the store and I know I won't run out any time soon. That feeling of knowing you can feed your family for the next month or so on what you've preserved is a wonderful feeling.

Sort:  

OMGosh!!! You said it all!

Yes it brings a certain smile to my face (and heart) when I make pasta for dinner and hubby is smacking his lips and murmuring how good the sauce is. Definitely worth all the time, effort and long hours in the kitchen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86