Inspiration - Where Does It Come From? (Origins of Word)

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

“You have power over your mind - not outside events.
Realize this, and you will find strength.”

-Marcus Aurelius


IMG_20180214_003735.png

Image made with Canva.
(A great application for smartphone users with lots of free customizable templates and background images.)

So what is inspiration?

Right here and now it's just a word that we are able to look at. We can read it or speak it out loud. It doesn't matter, we're all perceiving it.

As any word it is giving off its vibration to the world. To you and me. What we get depends on how we see. On our lense. Our view. Throughout the cultural programming and experiences - everyone sees it differently. With their own stories and insights to share.

My inspiration is this moment of now. I like to ask myself what can I do, what words can I say or actions take to make my world a better place. I couldn't stop if I started counting songs, movies, books or simple quotes that inspire me. They differ with each moment because each moment has its unique taste.

I just let it unfold. The universe. Just like the breathing. I let it go. In and out. Screams and shouts. They go around transforming the clouds.

Gif from Giphy


Let's look at the meanings from one of my favourite sources as I love to explore origins of words.

Source - Merriam Webster

Definition.png


Interesting, right? Inspiration is like breathing. Taping in to the depths of your self and getting the energy to move around. With every intake of breathe, with every doing what you want.


Now lets look at the origins of the word.

Still from Merriam Webster.


History.png


As you see - inspiration comes from within.
When you are breathing - you are inspiring the world.

Observe your patterns of thinking.
When your mind is at peace - breathing is calm.

When you're excited - it's like an alarm.

All you need is a helping hand.
And it's right with you - at the end of your arm!

Words inspire - they work like a charm!
Just as the sun - making us warm.



Gif from Giphy

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That's the only thing you should be trying to control.”
- Elizabeth Gilbert


Where is your inspiration coming from?
Or let me ask it differently?
What is in the depths of your self, the place you reach everytime you inhale?


I know I mentioned breathing a lot in this post. It's something you do, want it or not. You can control it or let it go. You can forget it or be always aware of it. Every next choice is entirely up to you. How will you use your breathe? What will be brought to light by your imagination?

It's your path, embrace it!

Gif from Giphy


steemitbaneris.png

Appreciator Footer.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Maybe inspiration is from “breathing” in the known and breathing out the unknown. For me creative genius has always been taking old knowledge and putting it together in new ways to see something we couldn’t before. Some of the greatest scientific discoveries were made by flipping conventional wisdom on its head, literally seeing things from the opposite point of view – think Copernicus. Kind of like breathing in and breathing out. ;-)

It's like - nothing is constant, except change. Always flowing, growing and loving.

Thanks for a thoughtful comment.

I really like where you took this post...or should I say, where the post took you:) Inspiration is such an interesting concept, and I think in this materialistic culture, we see a lot of people tend to look for their inspiration in materialistic things, outside of themselves. I too believe it all comes from within, we just have to be listening for it. Good ol' Marcus Aurelius had it right though...we can't control anyone or anything, but we can however, control ourselves and the way we react to others! Thanks and Cheers! (and I see you are a fellow steemit blogger...love it)

Thanks for such a nice response! And yeah - you can never know where the post will take you. You just have to trust the process of becoming and let the universe unfold itself.


Have a wonderful day!

You got a 8.70% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @spellmaker!

This post has received a 1.85 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @spellmaker

This was beautiful and reminded me that we in charge of our own thought patterns. We determine how we move forward in life.

Exactly. It's all in our hands!
Thanks for coming here! Have a beautiful day!

Inspiration surely comes from within. I will be careful to choose my thoughts from now on.

Let every thought be but focus only on those moving you forward, closer to dream!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55