Use fresh herbs

I know that we live in a world of convenience when it comes to shopping, but when it comes to herbs, there is nothing like being able to pick your own fresh herbs.
You don't even have to have a garden in order to grow herbs as they can be grown very successfully in containers - and in many cases, this can be better as the container can be placed in the best possible position.

One of my favourite herbs is thyme which I have in containers - I have the regular thyme and the golden lemon thyme which are growing beautifully.
Thyme oil is used in most cough mixtures that we buy today but for me, I just love to cook with it - using it stews and soups and many other dishes.

The flowers are loved by the bees and look lovely when the thyme is in full bloom

The golden lemon thyme is lovely too even when not in flower as the golden leaves make a striking contrast when planted near other plants.

Sort:  

Thyme is one of my favourite herbs, how lucky you are to have two varieties! Buying herbs from the store may be convenient but they are all so much weaker in flavour in comparison.

You are so right - nothing beats the flavour of fresh herbs.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

I totally agree, we mostly use fresh herbs, like Basilikum, Thyme, and Oregano. These herbs make the difference.

Those are three of my favourites

Interesting I've not really cooked much with Thyme, not sure why not to be honest :) I should experiment about more with it from the sound of it.
Also hadn't heard of thyme oil either so double experiments coming up it seems haha thanks for enlightening my POV of thyme, great post.

Thank you - it is a herb well worth having

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85