Doing a revamp on my vegetable containers.

During the time I was away a few weeks back, my containers took a bit of a beating as there was nobody to water and care for them.
The day I got back, I was greeted by plants that were on the verge of complete collapse and so before doing anything else, I rushed out to give them some water.
The next day I went out to inspect them closely and was devastated to see that my heirloom kale was covered in aphids.

Those nasty little critters had taken advantage of the fact that there was no one there and had decided to have a feast of note!
So for the next few days it was war.
I was determined to not let my kale die and so blasted water on them until no more aphids appeared.

Yesterday was lovely and sunny so I decided to give all my veggie containers a revamp with some organic food, compost and new mulch.
I pruned some plants back , pulled out spent nasturtiums and generally tidied up all the containers.

As I did all of this, I saw that my beetroots are ready to harvest and my spring onions - this I will do next week sometime.

And as for my heirloom kale, well, it is recovering and new leaves are forming at the top so I am hoping that with all the tlc I have given them, plus the fact that spring is around the corner, that they will do well again.

Sort:  

See.. this is one of the reasons I don't like to leave my homestead. I can never be sure someone else will take care of my garden the way I do.

Hope your kale recovers completely.

It must be nice to have containers

Yes it is nice as I can make sure the soil etc is good and when I water, I know my plants get sufficient without wasting water.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

My goal is to grow everything in containers and learn to live without those that don't like it. Container gardening gives the best results and you can never have too many containers!

I agree with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70