Do you grow perennial basil?

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago (edited)

Basil is probably one of the best loved herbs - especially the annual sweet basil that is available during the summer months, but if you are like me, I like to have basil throughout the year and so I turn to perennial basil.

Perennial basil grows quickly and develops into a really nice bush.
The leaves are bigger and coarser than the annual basils, but the flavour and scent is truly amazing.
One bush will keep you in basil for the whole year - to use it in salads as well as cooking.

Towards the end of summer I pick loads of it, then wash thoroughly, strip off the leaves, pat dry and pop into plastic bags for the freezer.
This way, when I need some for cooking, I do not have to go out into the pouring rain - just take it out of the freezer, and crumble some into my bolognaise or whatever I am cooking at the time.

There are many varieties of basil available, but trust me - grow some perennial basil so that you never run out.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.409 which ranks you at #17815 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 21 places in the last three days (old rank 17794).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 216 contributions, your post is ranked at #214.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

We like to grow it in our aquaponics it thrives all year

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47