5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Music | Steemitbloggers Contest | Marvel Superheroes

in #steemitbloggers6 years ago

Hey... Shaun, I've got a job for you; this Saturday afternoon, if you're interested. The wages is 200 dollars.

My cap almost fell out when I lifted my head up & looked straight at Thomas. That's the best news I've heard for the entire week. Like music to my ears. I've been struggling the entire week trying to figure out how to make another 150 bucks to pay for my flight ticket to Krakow, Poland for STEEMFEST. It's been my dream to attend STEEMFEST since I first joined Steemit in March 2017. There's been so much talk about STEEMFEST that if I missed it again this year, I would never forgive myself. I'll probably give up on Steemit and just walk away.

Game on so long it's not anything illegal and involves slaughtering

Oh.. It's easy. You just need to entertain a group of children for a couple of hours. Food, drinks, transportation and costume is provided on top of the wage.

I looked at Thomas suspiciously. Costume ? What's that suppose to mean ? I had an image of Anastasia Steele from Fifty Shades of Grey at the back of my mind .. or worst, Hulk Hogan, the wrestler. I wasn't sure which was worst but for 200 dollars to pay for my air ticket and still had some balance for food... It's worth it all. How much trouble can a group of kids do these days. Give them a device and they'll probably be sitting down quietly in one corner.

Come Saturday, I followed Thomas for the job but I made sure he payed me 100 dollars first in advance just so that I don't walk away empty handed. Not that I didn't trust him but in this part of the world, it's best to have upfront payment. As my dad used to say, When it comes to cash, even friends can turn to foe.

We arrived at Hank's Costume Store at Baker's Street. This is like a punk street where you can find almost everyone is dressed like Gypsies or their hair is combed up like Mohawks. I could've sworn that I saw a look-a-like of Daniel Day-Lewis from The Last of the Mohicans walking down the street just across the store. Checking out my surroundings, I noticed that there were many young couples lining up to try out their selected costumes. The varieties were enormous and you name it, they've got it.

Shaun.. This is yours. Try it out. It should fit especially since it's spandex.

I almost choked when I saw the costume. It's Spiderman !! WHAT THE HELL!!!

After much debate with Thomas, I shrugged myself into the dressing room to try out my costume. I kept repeating to myself that it's for STEEMFEST. It's for KRAKOW. Thomas had explained that it's a birthday party for a 10 year old boy and the theme is MARVEL SUPERHEROES. All other characters were taken except Spidey which is a must for the birthday boy. That's why the parents were willing to pay 200 dollars for anyone to take on that role.

Our journey to the birthday party took 15 minutes by cab. Boy! It was the longest cab drive I've ever had. People on the streets were staring at me; scrutinizing me from top to bottom, thinking what a gown up man like me was doing by wearing a Spiderman spandex on broad daylight !

The party had already started by the time we reached the house which so happened to be a huge 3 storey house in the city. Loud music was being played and it sounded like Uptown Funk from Bruno Mars. As I walked in with my Spidey mask on...

BANG... BANG... BANG

I was being shot from all four corners! Those brats actually had guns filled up with rubber bullets and they were all aiming at me. Before I could even raise my arms to surrender, they had raised their M16s and released whatever bullets they had. I shouted, screamed and ran but no one came to my rescue. Everyone thought I was playing my role in entertaining the kids.

It didn't take long before they all ran out of ammunition that they decided that they had enough of Spidey. I sat down on one corner of the kitchen, rubbing my sore arms & legs. I looked at my reflection on the fridge. I had bruises all over and my costume was torned in so many areas from the sudden attack.

Well Done Shaun! Task completed. Here's your balance 100 dollars and there's even a tip of 20 dollars for the extra showmanship.

I snared at Thomas angrily, grabbed my wages and walked out from the house. I should have known better that there was no easy job for such an amount. I walked towards the main road and hailed for a taxi. It was peak hours and there was no way I was going to grab a taxi looking like this.

Strangely, being in a Spidey suit does helps. A car stopped in front of me and a pretty young lady peeped out from her car window...

Hey Spidey, Need me to swing you around?

judeus-samson-781549-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Judeus Samson on Unsplash

signature_2.gif

SB_new.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

Teammalaysia.JPEG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Bwhahaha! Lovely twist in the tale!

It just seemed like the perfect ending for a harsh day for Shaun 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I upvoted your post.

Cheers to you.
@Pinoy

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Hey that's a cute ending!!! Hehehe, some girls have a soft spot for superheroes!!

All the best for the contest :)

Must be the Spandex 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Must be the Spandex 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ireenchew! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



I really don't mind this kind of job.

Anyway I so enjoy your story. You are getting tremendously good at it. Well done I would say. Make me relax reading your story. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much.. I was intrigued by the whole Spidey image.. Just couldn't help myself

Not too bad 220 bucks for some ol school fun and now off to steemfest whooohoooo
Hey if there are any more gigs let me know 😉

Ha ha.. I'll find Wonder Woman for you...

ok,
better download that active fit app and start working out ;p

Nice post, good luck with the contest

Thanks so so much

Posted using Partiko Android

These characters accost you on the street in LA. Very scary for me!

Such is life that strange things do happen 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32