TOTD: Rainbow🌈, Story-telling and Making Promises

in #steemitbloggers7 years ago (edited)

Anyone here in Steemit really get fascinated when you see rainbow? I am. From young until now, I am extremely captivated by the sight of rainbow.

I used to ask my mum how did rainbow appear and now it is my children's turn to ask me. Just in case you do not know, rainbow is formed by reflection and refraction of the sun rays on the falling rain or on droplets of water in the atmosphere. Even with this explanation, I still find the creation of rainbow is majestic. To me, with many colours actually existed in the light itself is an unbelievable fact because we don't see colourful sky but colours do exist everywhere beyond what our naked can see. Amazing right?

The other day after a rainy evening, we were simply mesmerised by the view of rainbow just outside our apartment. I caught myself and my children stood there freezed just being captivated by it.

Rainbow - landscape photography for @photocontests

20180130_081959.jpg
Love at first sight - rainbow.

20180213_133457.jpg
The rainbow is diminishing while still emitting ray as if it is waving bye-bye as it goes.

Rainbow in the Bible

Therefore on that night, my children requested for a rainbow story. Of course I took the opportunity and grabbed the children's Bible and told them about the story of Noah and the rainbow. I will share all the photos from the book I used because pictures tell a thousand words. You can tell the same story to your children too. It is a cool, awesome, true story from the Bible 😍. This is a "Read and Share Bible" book that encourages particpation, interaction and conversation between parents and child/children with given questions or thoughts at most pages to spur your child's creativity thinking and to get them to talk (as if they have not talked enough, lol!)

20180213_133909.jpg
Read and Share Bible.

20180213_134107.jpg
Question of the page: Do you think it is easy to obey when everyone else is laughing at you?

My eldest son straight away shared he faced this challenge because he was ridiculed at school for being a good boy and good boy is coward boy according to his 'naughty' friends, and they laughed at him. I gave him a hug and praised him for being brave and bold to stick to the correct attitude despite being laughed at. He was also appointed as leader of a small group to jot down names of friends that are naughty so that the teacher is informed. A very tough position for a 7-year-old but I guess he is selected for a reason. Mummy prays for grace and favour of God to follow him 24hours daily.

20180213_134122.jpg

20180213_134134.jpg
Question of the page - How many days do you think it rained?

My children confidently replied "7 days! 7 days!". Haha. The answer is 40 days and they said I bluffed. Children...lol. I told them nothing is impossible with God.

20180213_134143.jpg
Question of the page - What do you think everyone did when Noah opened the door of the boat?

My 7-year-old: Walk out lah.
My 3-year-old: I don't want walk out, want to stay in the boat.

20180213_134150.jpg
Question and thoughts of the page - All promises of God are in the Bible. Isn't it wonderful to think of all He has promised us?

My eldest: I think God will promise me to let mummy daddy stay forever with me here and don't go heaven.
Mummy: But earth is not our permanent home. Heaven is.
My 3-year-old: What promise ah?

Genesis 9:12-17 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”

Revelation 4:3 And the one who sat there had the appearance of jasper and ruby. A rainbow that shone like an emerald encircled the throne.

And we delayed our sleep because we move on to the topic of heaven.

Making Promises

Have you ever made promise/s to your loved ones or friends or children and realised afterwards that you could not keep the promise/s? You might even make a pinky-promise but as time went by, you were still incapable or situation did not allow you to keep your promise.

Screenshot_20180213-181105.jpg
Source Image

So what should you do if you break a promise? Well, firstly don't be too hard on yourself neither be too soft. If I ever break promise, I acknowledge it is my mistake and explain to the other party my challenges (assuming he or she is in the mood of listening). Forgive yourself and try to be better next time. Or I would say, do not simply make promises. Valentine's Day is coming and with all the lovey-dovey spirit going on, be moderate when you make promise to your loved ones 😉. Make a promise you can keep up with. For example I will never promise my spouse that I love him and I miss him every single second.

What about God's promises? It is true all God's promises is in His Words. That being said, the more you know His words, the more you know what is in-stored for you. So let's take out the Bible and dig deep. Sometimes God's promises does not come to pass according to our time because He knows the best timing. While waiting, we can be rest assured He is working on something. From my experience, anything I ask from God is either "Yes" or "No" or "Wait" or "Whichever also OK".

Rainbow-related Characters

I love rainbow so much that these two are one my favourite cartoon characters.

giphy (1).gif
Rainbow Carebear

giphy (2).gif
Rainbow Dash

*GIFs from free GIF website - giphy.com

And when it comes to teaching colors, I will start with rainbow colouring and lots of rainbow art. There are many versions of rainbow song you can sing and dance with your children at home. For example this one from Mother Goose Club.

Or this one from Funtastic TV

I hope you enjoy my blog on rainbow and my thoughts. What about you? Do you love rainbow as much as I do?


With 💗, @iamjadeline
FB_IMG_1517843172595.jpg

20180212_193505.png


DQmaSkZUGPFYYvJmXCpL9H8xaBZu4oY9rP4zYQXYz63brEf.jpeg



Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

What a magnificent rainbow you manage to capture! One of the nicest I have seen in photos.

Kudos to Jayden for taking the road less taken. You sure did have a great time with them about the story of Noah!! Like it when Jansen asked: What promise ah? lol

A great write about promises and not to over promise too! Everyday I wait to read your quality content!!! Thank you @iamjadeline 💝

Thank you @happycrazycon. I also love reading your quality content. 💜

I'm captivated by the rainbows too. Catched a shot from my office:
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@cruella/3ztatv-colorchallenge-mondayred

@iamjadeline, love that book eh! So many prompting questions to enjoy conversations with young kids.

Sometimes God's promises does not come to pass according to our time because He knows the best timing. While waiting, we can be rest assured He is working on something.

Big fat happy Amen to this! :)

Yes it is really a fun book. You can invest into one. ✌😍

Rainbows are a rare but magical occasion! I didn't know it is described in the bible as well! But then I am an atheist, so no wonder there! 😏

I think people like rainbows because of the colourful spectrum and natural fenomenon! Just like storm or thunder!

Yes the colourful spectrum...it is just beyond vocabulary to describe. Atheist or not, we are all wonderful and have different view of life from which we can learn from one another. 😍

U know, I'm always reminded of God's promises through this story when I see the rainbow. There are several instances when I was going through a storm and then somehow, I would just glance into the sky and a rainbow would be there.

Yes same here. And when this happened, I would tear of gratefulness. Aww...

Yay carebears! My childhood.. haha
I only will get excited when i saw double rainbow.. :P

Hope you will see double rainbow soon. Oh you like carebears too! yay!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 12:45:13
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 449.04/800.00
Total Photos: 49
Total comments: 61
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hardly see a rainbow from my balcony nowadays

My favourite rainbows are those I can see when I'm on a plane 😊

Wow. Have you seen one when you are on plane? I never . hmm.. i wonder how does it look like.

Few times haha, erm you're definitely higher than the rainbow usually.. Can see from different angle haha.. But is very rare..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by iamjadeline from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Reading to your children is awesome. Readers are leaders. Reading bible stories better. And engaging them in the story as you do is exceptional. You are going to have some smart rascals on your hands.

Smart rascals huh...ehe ✌🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42