You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: JULY - SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 3 - by @simplymike

Just to be sure, those are cucamelons you have growing there, right?

Nope.. the package I used these from I bought at Annie's Heirloom seeds (I think) and it's labeled as Mexican Sour Gherkins. I thought the same thing, that they were cucamelons also so I had to double check my package. They look the same, so I am wondering if they are the same just depends on where you live geographically.

No, I didn't know that about the roots- it's def something to consider!!

Sort:  

@goldendawne, just looked it up. it appears to be the same plant.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melothria_scabra

Yesterday I checked my plants and noticed the first ones were almost ready to eat. Yummy!!

Melothria scabra
Melothria scabra is a vine grown for its edible fruit. Fruit are about the size of grapes and taste like cucumbers with a tinge of sourness. Vernacular names include mouse melon, Mexican sour gherkin, cucamelon, Mexican miniature watermelon, Mexican sour cucumber and pepquinos.This plant is native to Mexico and Central America,
where it is called sandiita (little watermelon). It is believed to have been a domesticated crop before western contact began.

So this @wikitextbot posts the text of the article which is linked to?
Cool! I just wonder why there is no source reference of its own...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44