Homemade Dog Food: Healthier & Better For My BIG Baby

Ever since last May when my 7-year old chocolate lab had her surgery to remove a fatty tissue tumor from her shoulder, I have been extra cautious of her diet. Some processed dog foods are horrible for dogs that are susceptible to these conditions; and I didn't want a repeat of this surgery or her pain.

So I had started researching how to make my own dog food for her. I was already making her cookie treats and she loved them and after her surgery I was leery to make her chew the crunchy dry kibble, so I had bought her some refrigerated organic dog food. But that was quite pricey and she is a 100-lb dog who has a healthy appetite.

food ingred.jpg

So after all the research this was the best explanation of a dog's dietary needs.

Untitled.png

Source

My Homemade Dog Food Recipe



1-2 lbs venison beef stew chunks- cooked
1-cup white or brown rice (I used white this time)
1- can of organic mixed vegetables- drained
1-2 teaspoons of olive oil (to help when ingredients are in the food processor)
1- cooked sweet potatoes chopped up
1/2 cup regular oatmeal

The only thing I didn't add to this recipe is the eggs. They tend to give her some unmentionable flatulence problems; which I can live without.

Add all ingredients to the food processor and mix until well blended. Add one teaspoon of olive oil at a time until the consistency is what you want. I like hers a little on the thicker side because I roll it up; then cut off chunks (in two inch slices) for her feedings.


I let this roll of her food refrigerate for 24-hours before serving it up to her. This roll will last for three days. I make this dog food for her usually 2-3 times per week and it's the freshest of fresh and I know all the ingredients inside. When we don't have venison, I will use chicken, turkey or the lean burger we have from the 1/4 cow we purchased two months ago.

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Sounds like your dog has it pretty good! 😉

Yeah she is pretty spoiled and well taken care of to say the least.

Great recipe!! I used to do homemade dog food too. It is super easy if you use your crock pot, just dump everything in there and it will cook by itself. :D

We ended up switching to raw feeding though. I think both are great options, and either one is better than kibble by FAR!!
Great post! ♥

I remember seeing quite a few options for the slow cooker and crock pot when I was checking into the recipes before. I may have to try one in the future. She can be pretty picky (and spoiled)!

Haha, well I am lazy, or at least, always looking for ways to save time, so the crock pot option was great for me!
Sounds like you take great care of that dog! ♥

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.801 which ranks you at #1414 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 21 places in the last three days (old rank 1393).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #110.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You are such a good dog mom!! My mom used to cook the food for our dog. She used to get lungs and hearts from the butcher and cook that, mix it with veggies and rice and freeze it in portion sizes.

Howdy there goldendawne! I'm so glad you put this together because I keep reading about how bad the commercial food is but didn't really have an alternative so thank you! How does your dog like it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56