Musings from the BJJ Gi #28, lesson 40, stripe 2!

in #steemitbjj6 years ago

IMG_2538.jpg

It's been a long time between posts, partially because I lost track of where I was up to with which lesson I had written about, partially because it gets kind of boring for both you and me to keep going over the same lessons again, and partially just because life sometimes gets in the way of Jiu Jitsu; sickness, injury, events, and committments etc. It's winter here in Australia at the moment, which as you know knocks everyone's immune systems around and we pick up bugs here and there.

Anyways, we've kept on gradually chipping away at the Combatives curriculum in the meantime, and last Friday we got our second stripe! It always feels good doing that ritual, getting called out from the line of students up to the instructor to a round of applause, a stripe, handshake, hugs and congrats from the instructor, and another round of applause as you return to the line. I'm very proud of my partner for reaching this milestone too, she has thrown herself wholeheartedly into the long term task of learning BJJ, and she's loving it too! She's said that she's noticed her strength and balance has improved at yoga and pilates classes as a result of training BJJ. Looking forward to the journey towards the next milestone.
Cheers!

  • David
Sort:  

Congrats @davidrichards! Wears those stripes with pride. I take it you're doing the Gracie Combatives. They're a fantastic foundation for your jiu-jitsu journey. Happy rolling!

Thanks man! Yeah it's the Gracie Combatives curriculum, all self defence BJJ, which is all I'm really interested in it for.

Good to hear. I would still highly recommend competing to further hone your skills. I wrote a post about it not too long ago. There happens to be a great tournament coming to Melbourne on October 7th. It's by Grappling Industries. Give them a look.

Nice! Yeah I'll definitely consider competing again at some point. This is my third pass at BJJ training, starting from the start again haha. I used to compete way back in my early 20's (2001-2004), but at 37 I'm a bit more apprehensive to get my body mangled. I defeinitly need to refine my grasp of the basic a bit more before I consider anything extra I think.

Congratulations @davidrichards! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19