My Days Old Journey to the Better Me in a Supposed-To-Be 2000 Words

in #steemitachievers6 years ago (edited)

My days old Journey to the Better Me in a Supposed-To-Be 2000 Words


I thought Steemit will not going to approve my request. I've waited and been quite impatient for the email to arrive. I have been checking my email, refreshing it every day but still, no email from Steemit. Then, I realized I was checking the wrong email. I used the other email with no surname on it for this kind of activity while I've been checking for two weeks on my email used for work. Then I saw that my request has been approved four (4) days ago as of October 27, 2017.

With that, I'm already 25 days old here if I based it on the day I received the email but if I based it from the day I posted or I should say resteemed the blog of my dearest friend deeday31 , then, I'm only 22 days old. Thus, I'll consider myself as a 22-day old Steemian as of November 19, 2017.

Quote.jpg


In spite of this, I'm still going to participate in long888 2000 words blog contest with a topic: My Journey in Steemit. Honestly speaking, the 22-day journey here in Steemit will not be able to reach 2000 words, with that, I'm going to expound all the words that are running through my mind. This is my second attempt to write my Journey. I ended up writing 3200 words and as I've read it all over again I realized that I made a very long detour and find my way to the main topic in the middle of the blog although I made a connection. Hence, I'm still writing a new one.


CONFUSION


Before I joined here, I've read all the FAQs and some blogs that might give me information. At first, I was able to understand it almost half of it and said to my friend Deeday that I signed up. I think we're talking on the phone or chatting. Either way, she's the one who told me to do so. Later on, she told me that she already has this amount on one of her blog. I was like, "Really?" Then she asked me if mine was approved already then I joked and said to her, "Nah! I think Steemit will not going to approve my account because they think I'm a terrorist!". But while saying those words, I checked my email and the other one and then I've had their approval four days ago.

The first thing I did was read, and read and then asked questions to her even though she's still a newbie. I still really don't know where to go, what to do everything about Steemit is very confusing. I'm confused and she's confused too and she's all I've got when I entered here.

Now when I made my 10 Facts As An Introduction, it resulted in a double post because when I clicked Post button, error flashed so I click it again, so yeah double trouble! I should have deleted the other one but I didn't. Then I just realized this week that I was mentioned by a certain bot or curator that I used the introduce yourself tag twice in which I steal the privilege of the other newbies. I got pissed and said in a loud voice, "It's the server fault, not mine! Fix your bug!"

Nonetheless, I enjoyed my first two similar blogs posted. I really thought it for a couple of minutes, read others introduce yourself post and made 90 degrees detour just to have a new way of introductory. I was only welcomed by few and managed to accept that I will going to have a long and confusing journey.

Frankly saying, when I saw others introduce-yourself post which is only one paragraph or two and then gained more than 5 dollars, I somehow questioned myself and read again my introduce-yourself post if there's something wrong with it. I'm not being a brat here okay? I'm just telling what I was thinking back then.

From that day on, I was just posting photographs since I am now fond of photography. Although I don't have a decent camera, my P10 can compensate it and be my buddy until I learn fully Photography and to the day I have my own camera. Someday!

Then a friend from Bitlanders, g10a messaged me in Discord and commented on my two introduce-yourself posts. He introduced me to #steemitachievers and I was so delighted that I found familiar names.

Steemitachievers has a group chat in messenger which I am grateful to be part of. I was able to grasp some information which lessens the confusion. We have birjudanak to thank for! He always answers the questions, suggests what tags to be used, what is this and what is that, I think almost everything. Also, I was then told by kuya long888 that I should not mind the earnings, for now, and just let myself enjoy posting, sharing and commenting.


THE START


In less than a week, I was then told to make a new introduce-yourself post while participating @surpassinggoogle #untalented 1.0 and 2.0. I was very hesitant to do this since, I'm going to have a picture of myself with the logo and my username on it, more like a fan sign. It took me a couple of days to gain confidence to write more about myself. If you have read my first post, it was just 10 facts about me no more no less. But, #untalented 1.0 talks about "WHO AM I?" which made me talk more.

It was my very first time to post something more private and to share it with the sea of unknown crowd. As I wrote my Who Am I entry, a bulb lights up and I realized that this will be a great strategy to defeat the electrons in me. I already said this in my #untalented entry 1.0: Confession of A Girl In A Narrow Tunnel.


13620207_1140432559312783_838512875731563845_n.jpg


Through blogging, I want to regain the confidence that I once have before I've had my first great downfall in college. I want to wash out the insecurities that are still living inside me so that my wings will be fully healed and to soar high.

In my #untalented entry, I was able to tell to everybody my strengths and weaknesses, the glimpse of my downfalls, my insecurities and some of my dreams. I really think that if I consistently exercise this kind of set up as to write my thoughts whether random or not, I may be able to reach the biggest prize of joining here in Steemit which I will going to mention on the last part of this blog.


THE NIGHT


In my high schools days, I'm one of those confidently competitive young lasses in our school. I want to participate and excel in every competition like Tongue Twister, Declamation, Oration, Quiz Bee, Spelling Bee, Poster Making, Dancing, you can name it all. I think the only contest I prohibited myself from joining is the Singing Contest! A big no-no for that category. I don't want to be thrown by an egg or tomato on my face nor making your eardrums to explode like a star. I refrain myself from embarrassment. I'd rather dance the famous Budots here in the Philippines but not with singing.

Now, as I enter college, freshmen days, I was still oozing with confidence at that time, attention seeker to be exact. Then as time goes by, I got to see so many talented people that somehow resulted in a hundred percent of belittling myself. I encountered lots of brilliant and smart people that made me realize that I was just a girl with great winds in her head. They are very fluent in English, they can do an impromptu speech, a good debater, knowledgeable already in electronics, can solve higher math even if it wasn't discussed (my boyfriend is one of them), can do higher programming language, can draw, paint, sketch really well. Even my penmanship, I compared it to my classmate in college. The skills, knowledge, talents that I think I greatly have weren't that enough compared to them. Insecurities announced and shouted mission accomplished!!


544058_529609797061732_1961577711_n.jpg

In college, I still want to compete in any dance competition although I restricted myself in dance sports and lyrical dance. Anyways, would you look at that faces!! Hahaha


CONTEST


All the conducted contests here in Steemit challenge my mixed competitive and fun self and then I get to see other people entries and be amazed and inspired by it. I keep on losing always but as I see their entries, I tell myself, I need to improve more and more. Someday I'll be able to obtain a higher number rate but I just need to improve myself so let's just take it slow and have fun with it.

Unexpectedly, my untalented entry 1.0 and 2.0 conducted by @surpassinggoogle got higher earning, well $12 and $5 are already high for me. I was really pumped up even though it was already stated that in this contest there will be no losers just winners. And I really want to thank @surpassinggoogle for this kind of contest. It was unique and creative in such a way participants tend to express their innermost feelings and showcase their talents in every possible way.

I also got a chance to win on a smartphone photography by @juliank in which I won a 0.500 Steem and I squealed on the Jeepney. People were all staring at me but I really don't care. My officemate asked me and told her that I was one of the winners with teary eyes! That amount may be too low to others but honestly, it was enough to bring joy to my heart.

Next was when I won again a comment contest by @steemph.cebu with a question, "What are the things that you can contribute to Steemit?". We are required to answer it in our local language, Bisaya, and days later, I was announced as one of the winners and won 3 SBD. That also made me squeal again in the office. I was so hyped that my supervisor asked me what's wrong.


Screenshot_4.png


I also joined in a weekly poetry contest held by @terrycraft. I wasn't able to win the said weekly contest but honestly, I feel like I already won. Why? Well, that's because it was a trigger point to let the gears in my head to produce a rotational force. My brain was so active that I was able to make poems during lunch break. I was able to make a poem for my shaken dreams and a poem for my best friend which I gave it to her on her birthday. It was a nice improvement and proud of myself for achieving such reward.


THE DAY


After I posted my #untalented entry, I just kept on posting photos with short descriptions. I still don't have extra time to make a travel blog even though I already prepared the pictures. Then asbonclz read my untalented entry and left a comment saying:

..."You draw well, I suggest you blog your drawing with an "art" tag since there are plenty of curators under that tag..."

I felt happy about it since someone appreciated my outline drawing but a bit warry for his suggestion. I then replied:

Thank you! I'll think about it. I'm too shy to blog my works because there are plenty of Steemians who really draw well... (I used the word siksik which is synonymous with an expert in our local language.)

And his reply:

Don't be shy no one will criticize you. People here are all nice.

Then I tried to post one in my entry to @terrycraft #SteemitPoetryContest. I think it was one of my steps to allow myself to share some of my old drawings even though they are not as detailed as the other artist. Talking about lazy here!

Moreover, I still don't have a new set of drawing materials besides the drawing pens and mechanical pencils I used in my Engineering Drawing. I haven't bought any because of the feeling of being left behind and the insecurities I’ve had to other artist was in great momentum. If I feel like to draw I would just use my pencil or ballpen and a piece of paper or my sketchbook which was dusted already.

But now, I was inspired by many when I asked when he or she started doing this and that and he or she replied a few months ago. I got to see people who worry a lot about their English but still trying to make blogs and each blog I see their improvements. I see lots of professionals who are sharing their knowledge and expertise and neophytes who seek for their help and advice. A give and take relationship in this kind of ecosystem.

In just a matter of days, Steemit became my driving force. I have this urge already to do what I was supposed to do long before; to draw, to write and to make poems. Yes, I am not that expert plus I stopped for almost a decade but I can start from the scratch and do the things that I really like and share to everyone how I improve in some aspects of my life.

I also even love photography more. I bumped into a blog of @jewels3 where she conducted a photography tutorial. It was like an online class. She's very generous to share her knowledge and I really appreciate it a lot!


FUTURE


As mentioned beforehand, I'm still new to this and problems I encountered so far was low earnings, confusion about the different roads of Steemit, what to post next, the caption, the grammars, etc., etc., etc.

However, the purpose of joining here in Steemit has been defeated. I joined because I want to earn money but it was overtaken by the satisfaction I feel every time I finish a blog, post the picture I took or make poems every lunch break.


THE BIG PRIZES


Yes if my posting of a qualitative post is consistent, I could earn big but aside from the money I could get here, there are some things that are somehow more important than earning.


FRIENDS

I'm a person who chooses who I want to mingle with or who I want to remember with. I easily forget the names and faces introduced to me unless they made a huge impact and leave either good or bad impression. I was called 'Maldita' in our local language and if translated, it is synonymous with an unapproachable woman or a woman with bad personality.


image.png


But, amid to that kind of personality, I was able to gain lots of friends in a short period of time. They always open their doors and answer every query I bombard to them. If Steemit and I will last, then Steemit will help me gain new friends in every part of the globe. It makes me reminisce my co-otaku friends. I lost contact with them when I had no internet connection for 6 months.


HONING THE TALENTS

Yes, talents. ‘My talents’ because every mankind has its own special and unique talent and that talent should be put to good use. It may be hidden as of this moment but it is our role to play on how to unveil it. Now as I grow older with Steemit, I can foresee that I’ll be able to draw back, and confidently share with everyone. I'm planning to have my own set of materials and be creative all over again and maybe this month or next month I can start already.


SELF CONTROL and TIME MANAGEMENT

I admit I have this Juan Tamad Syndrome. But I do all the things I need to do under great pressure that is, my mind is more active if the deadline is near already. But for the extra days given, I’d like to procrastinate which is not a good thing.

Yes, I still can post here in Steemit and to Bitlanders and then check the orders and our orders in our online shop then have an 8-hour duty but I still think I didn’t manage it well. It’s because there are times that I can’t post here and while I’m on duty I tend to open the site and read blogs knowing that my supervisor is right beside me. What a fearless little creature I am!!


image.png

Hedwig!


Hence, I want to utilize my time so well without multitasking. If I'm on my duty hours, I should be more focus on that alone, and after that, quality time with boyfriend because he always says that these days my face and mind are all focus on Steemit and Bitlanders. So probably, I'll try to control myself to write and read blogs afterwards including controlling my sleeping disorder.


Screenshot_5.png

My beautiful view


Lately, I tend to go to the comfort room just to have 5-10 minutes nap because of sleeping early like in 2:00 to 3:00 in the morning knowing that I need to wake up by 6:30. Right now, I've been trying to do all the things I need to do on or before 12 midnight. And I've been practising it for a couple of days and hopefully, this will last.


WRITING SKILLS

Before, I write short stories, fable, poems for my own delight. Then I discovered Wattpad and posted my works there, but I stopped it because there was just a handful of readers so, I deleted it.
Here, it also matters since without the readers especially those big ones, whales, you will not be able to earn. However, you will not reach that if you yourself will not improve. Thus, I really think this 2000 words blog contest of Kuya @long888 is a good training for every Steemitachievers as to enhance the writing skill as well as the vocabulary. It might be invisible by now but a constant writing can make it possible to see what was hidden long before. In this way, the contest will help me reap what I sow from the day I started Steemit, not just for me but to everyone else.


CONQUER YOURSELF

image.png


Come to think of it, I will not be in this kind of phase of my life if I haven’t experienced such nauseous sinusoidal waves. I realize then that I should be #grateful because all my downfalls were such an eye-opener. I realized so many things in life and made me strive to do more and more each day. I can’t deny the fact that I want to earn big but then to conquer my own self is the best prize I could ever gain other than earning here in Steemit. I’ve been dreading to defeat my own fear and insecurities and through Steemit, I’ll be able to get back the old but newer and better version of me. This may be a long, narrow and zigzag road but I'll see to it that I will be able to reach it and become better and better each and every day.

I learned my lesson and I like to stress out that I now want to become the Better, not the Best because if I become the Best then there will be a tendency that history will repeat itself and I'll stop growing and be stagnant in that phase and be depressed again and again.

Lastly, I think I exceed the required number of words and with that, I want to end this with a quote:

Being the Better means to never stop learning and growing every day while being the Best means to stop learning and growing because you think that you already reach the highest peak.


KEEP STEEMING EVERYONE!
MAY WE HAVE A FUN-FILLED JOURNEY
AND TOGETHER WE GROW
TO THE BETTER VERSION OF OURSELVES

~ kneelyrac ~


image.png

!steemitworldmap 8.174324 lat 124.117028 long description d3scr

Sort:  

uy maldita as este mate diay., pwedi ilike ang mga pictures hahahahaha

kabalo ko aha na na-address ng katawa. nafeel nako atong nagsayaw na pic. no? hahahahah

hahaha nope sa 2nd image akong gusto ilike ug kanang gasayaw kay astig kaau..

basta gwapa daw maldita hehe

Di jud na applicable sako kuya. normal rajud ning dagwaya haha

kumusta kneelyrac! :) a nice, informative post. yup.. that is one good guy.. surpassingGoogle. im following u and upvoted now.

I'm fine. Ikaw? Kumusta? Thank you for dropping by and for the compliment! I'm going to follow you right now! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kneelyrac
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-days-old-to-a-future-journey-to-the-better-me-in-a-supposed-to-be-2000-words


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Too sweet. Too pretty

Thank you sir Terry! :)

yay congrats sis!

Thank you sis! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kneelyrac to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

wonderful efforts, i appreciated you.

Thank you for reading my blog and for your kind words. :)

yati ra!!! hahahha

OMG! You're here already! Himu na ug introduce yourself post allan!! Para ma known imu account!

Haaaayyyyy salamat nahuman rajud nkog basa ang blog sakong gwapa nga maldita na ameygah... Hahahah amega jd ta ba kay pareha ta ingnan ug maldita...pero lahi sako na side ...ingnon ko sa uban ingrata ug suplada... Hahahah apir!!!

Hahaha! murag ganiha rajud tong udto ka gasugod ug basa dai hahaha. Malagot nako anang ingrata dai! Suplada madawat2 pa.

Samokan kau si aj uy hahaha...
Unsa diay ng ingrata abi nkog same rana sa suplada hahahahaha

Dili ui! Lain mana dai ui. Ambot unsa na sa english or tagalog basta kung papilion ko suplada ug maldita nalang ko

Hahahaha aw sunod mupili nko

hahaha amaw man ka dai ui! hahahaha

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kneelyrac from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43