Made Me A Minnow :-)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

If you're reading this, I owe you a debt of gratitude, fellow Steemian. After a journey that started on April 1st and has lasted for 225 posts, you all have made me a Minnow!


MMAM.JPG
source: SteemitBoard

Somehow it seems longer; it's only been almost seven months now since I've started posting here, but so much has happened since then that it almost feels like seven years. Not only the developments of the platform itself, but the development of the relationships with the actual people that make the platform has been a satisfying adventure. I've said it before, and I'll say it here again: nowhere else have I encountered such a passionate group of people. All highly creative, unique and individual, yet able to form a tightly knit community of communities; here I've met so many people I wish I'd met in real life.

Besides thanking you all, I would also like to make an apology here; it's ironic that I should become a minnow in a time when I actually don't have enough time to dedicate to steemit, and consequently to all of you, my dear readers. You might have noticed a lack of interaction from my side the last couple of weeks; it's a miracle that my UA-score hasn't already fallen of a cliff because I really struggle to keep up my promise of one post per day and have no time or energy left to read a lot of your posts, fellow steemians and fellow helpienauts... I really don't want to go into too much detail here, but my girlfriend's parents aren't doing well at all and need constant care, which we provide of course.

I don't know how long this situation will last, but I hope my time won't be freed up by one of them leaving this world... And then there's our day jobs; both my girlfriend and myself are under a lot of pressure with both of us having a chance to lose our jobs. This, combined with the regular day to day struggles of making ends meet, makes that I have very little energy left after writing my daily post, which has become my way of winding down after another long day.

Now don't take this as a cue to start worrying about me, I'm fine, really; I just thought I owed all of you an explanation of my reduced presence in this wonderful community. Today I made time to attend the weekly voice chat hangout on the @helpie Discord channel, and there I heard that a lot of people are leaving steemit, or are thinking about it. This has something to do with the plan to experiment with a 50/50 percent divide in curation awards so that half the reward goes to curators and content creators get to keep the other half. Although opinions differ on how this will affect voting behavior, I think we can all agree here and now that people will always try to game the system, some will always find a way around the algorithms to suit their short-term goals.

That's why I don't think any change on the technical side will solve any of the problems with possible unfair usage of the platform and it's reward pool. The platform itself won't ever change that, only the people that make the platform will bring about change by changing their, and each others mentality. And that's a big part of why I'm still so positive about steemit's chances; the communities and individuals I've met here look like they realize that the best chance for growth is to aim to grow the community. Take the hard fork we recently endured together; there were so many little in-fights about the possible consequences, about responsibilities and power concentration and unfair influence... But here we all are. Still on-boarding new users, @helpie still growing, and me being made a minnow by all of you.

We're in good shape, my dear readers and fellow steemians. Steemit is still a party and crypto-currencies are still the best way forward. And if I can be made a minnow, so can you ;-)


Thank-you-word-cloud.jpg
source: Wikimedia Commons

Although I owe thanks to ALL of you, there's a couple of steemians that I don't want to be left unmentioned here.

@movingman, thank you for welcoming me as a newbie back in April, explaining the basics and showing me around this strange new world ;-)

@meno, what can I say that hasn't been said before about your wonderful personality? Thanks so much for being a guide, a mentor and above all a friend to me and so many other steemians ho found a home filled with kindred spirits in @helpie.

@curie, the best group of curators dedicated to encouraging starters on our platform. I often think the work you all do by manually curating posts is highly underestimated and undervalued, so I want to be sure to say thank you to all of you too <3

@zipporah, @nathankaye and @ankapolo, my soulmates :-) Further words are unnecessary here <3

@chbartist and @diabolika, thank you for being, both in your own ways, guiding lights and sources of inspiration during my journey here!

And there are so many more I should mention here; I'm pretty sure you know who you are, most of you already were or have found your way into @helpie ;-)

THANK YOU!!

Edit
I just woke up and realized why I slept so bad... I totally forgot to mention:
@informationwar, @commonlaw and all others at @informationwar; next to @curie I owe them sooo much! Where @curie specializes in getting starters up, running and motivated, @informationwar inspires all of us to keep speaking truth to power. Thank you all and please forgive this stupid oversight from me....


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Believe Your Lying Eyes!
Divide Et ImperaDemise Of The Common Good
SimunyeDeepfake World
Neptune's Mug: Learning GIMP #2Dicktor Van Doomcock Defends Geek Culture

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Congrats mate!
And massive thanks to you, kindred spirit!
I've definitely lost flow with Steemit, I must sadly admit ,but nothing to do with the money or tech side of things.
I hope to be inspired to reignite in the Steemit world. Time will tell...
May your heart be blessed with abundance and joy!

In or out of steemit, I love you man! And as long as you occasionally show up on your blog and / or on Discord, I'm happy! Everybody's world is better with you in it ;-) 💖 🙏🏻

Bless you, The Palace and your family, my friend 💚

Grats b :)

Thank you so much for your continued support @k0wsk1 :-) I don't visit your blog often enough and feel bad about that... I'll try and do better... 💚

No sweat b, it’s a pretty unprofessional and random blog haha :D

Congratulations man, I wish you more success in this journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

And I wish you no less, dear @ketcom :-) And thanks so much for the kind words! 💚

Congratulations, Winston! Mighty fine milestone, good sir. Well done! <3 <3 <3

Tis a privilege to know you and swim alongside you in this vast, fascinating ocean. ;)

stock548.jpg

Thank you for being here, in my life dear @zipporah <3 I can assure you, the honor is mine ;-) 😍💖

Congratz on your consistency and persistence.

Thank you so much for this vote of confidence @theycallmedan :-) I'm honored and so glad to make your acquaintance! Minnows like you are what binds this community together, at least that's how I've come to see it in the few months I've been active here; what I would call "the influential middle-class" irl. I'll make sure to visit your blog soon! Thanks again for recognizing my humble contribution to this wonderful platform 💚

My regards goes to your steadiness.

Thank you for this kind response @baba99 :-) I'm so glad that you appreciate my consistency; that's the only thing I believe I really got right :-) Everything else still needs work and it's people like you that motivate me to put in that work; I can only hope I can do a tiny bit of the same for you 💚

Awesome job! Amazing community we have here

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! WE do have an amazing community here :-) I'm grateful to have found this place, as I'm sure you are too @bitcoinflood :-) I'm grateful for your kind words and your presence here on steemit! 💚

Congratulations for becoming a minnow, a helpie minnow at that, so double congrats to you :D.

And a double thank you to you @scrawly 😍

Congratulations on your milestone :)
remember we are a shoal :)

Indeed we are! Thanks so much @yidneth 💖

You are very welcome

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.534 which ranks you at #6236 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 229 places in the last three days (old rank 6465).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67