You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner's Guide to Steemit: A New Initiative to Bring STEEM to the Masses

in #steemit6 years ago

Well I do hope your outputs provide more than I’ve found so far & not another upvote chase. I understand I’m a minnow right now & simply working to find a platform and channel to broadcast from in support of the Mental Health & Pre-suicidal agenda.

I can barely get a view! And I was encouraged here by those heavily involved in curation for valued content?! We need help or we’ll stay where we are on Social Media.

I am starting to feel this is just a big financial game, everyone back patting for financial reward, please tell me I wasn’t mis-sold the concept?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@zoedj/does-curation-work

My blog today:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@zoedj/does-curation-work

... asks such questions and once again my readership were drawn in from the standard money making platforms of LinkedIn, instagram & Facebook ... why bother using here if our own curators and community can’t see a word I write?

What’s the benefit & how do new steemians change that before losing heart? What content is being curated?

I don’t care about generating an income - I care about those in need ... so thank you for your comments that ask more from the community than financial benefit!

(Sorry for the rant - more needs to be done for great content minnows looking to make a real difference through new less controlled channels!)

Kindest DJ

Sort:  

Hey there @zoedj! It's great to meet you. Since I haven't seen you comment on any of my posts yet, I'd love to know how you found my blog!

I really appreciate your engagement on this post. As someone who is well-aware of the struggles facing new users right now, I know it can be tough to find an audience. A while back, several concerned Steemians and me decided to form a group called The STEEM Engine (@thesteemengine). Our goals as a group are to promote the creation and curation of quality content as well as create an environment where our members engage each other on their posts. I encourage you to check out our Discord server and submit an application if you're interested! I think there's definitely plenty of room for articles about mental health, a subject that is incredibly important.

I can also assure you that this isn't an upvote chase. I've put time and energy towards a lot of projects, but I think this might be one of my largest undertakings so far on Steemit, which is why I'm soliciting the feedback from the community.

I want to be able to address all of the issues you brought up. Getting plugged into the right audience is something that is very dear to me since I help run a curation-based community. I'm curious whether you have gotten involved with any groups yet. There are several I would recommend other than The STEEM Engine. Another great one to join is @ShadowsPub's Steemit Ramble, which hosts a voice chat curation segment twice each Thursday where anyone may come on and promote their latest post. It's a great way to connect with a broad audience from across many Steemit communities. They also have a Discord server, and it's Thursday, so if you get this, check it out and maybe consider joining one of the sessions today!

This is going very long, but I wanted you to know that I appreciate all of your feedback and comments. These are all important issues facing new users, and since the whales aren't going to be helpful, it's up to the rest of us to improve the overall climate of the platform.

I hope to see you over in our community, and I'll definitely be giving your blog a look. Thank you for taking the time to read and engage. I will appreciate any feedback you can give on future posts in this initiative.

Hi @ethandsmith what a kind, considered and worthy reply. I really appreciate it and the pointers you have given.

I will definitely engage with @thesteemengine and take a look at @ShadowsPub

I’m not sure what a #discord server means, but hope to learn. I’m not ready to give up, especially not when I find a community such as you’re engaged with & posts like you’ve written! Very well timed, thank you.

And I found you by doing a #tag search to find posts which could help. Given I know a bit about the #promo-steem tag & have been observing the #steem-ambassadors I was actually seeking to see the value of them to the community / platform beyond a financial #upvote chase. I’m still not convinced I found enough evidence to validate great / valuable content curation through the latter. I’m not convinced there’s not empire building more than message value in either yet.

I hope I am wrong in the long term, as I believe in the potential here.

Thank you again did this post & your valuable reply. I will be sure to follow.

Kindest DJ

Oh, how presumptive of me. I forget that Discord is a new concept to many people.

Discord is a chat program that was originally designed for gamers, but many Steemit communities have servers there where their members reside to interact with one another. I suggest getting an account on DiscordApp.com, and then you can join many different communities' servers and chat with us over there. The links I shared with you in my previous response will make a whole lot more sense then.

Glad this post showed up via a tag search. It's interesting that you found me that way. I hope that checking out some of the curation efforts I've mentioned. Some other notables are @muxxybot, @thewritersblock, @thealliance, and @mitneb. I hope you can find some great content to curate.

We're fighting hard to make sure good content creators get noticed, but it's very difficult sometimes with the current climate of the platform. There are many issues, but there are also many bright spots.

You're very welcome. I think thoughtful responses are one of the greatest things about Steemit. Engagement builds audiences, and that's what we're all about at @thesteemengine. I hope you'll check us out soon.

Let me know if you have any other questions!

Thanks once again @ethandsmith I have been working away and still on vacation but starting to catch up and followed your advice. I have now joined discord ... but still learning! Thank you.

I have read and #resteemed a post today on #promo-steem and the new #CAMPUS https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@anarcotech/introducing-campus-a-decentralised-upvoting-guild-rewarding-promoters-educators-and-humanitarians which sounds exciting for real value curation.

Thanks for the open offer of more questions, as I return I am sure there will be some! Much appreciated, happy steeming! DJ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47