Does curation work?

in #steemit6 years ago

So here's my little story ...

girl-1545869_1920.jpg

I was encouraged and really motivated to get involved in the #steemit community, as the next big place to make a real impact on the lives of those that need it. And, I have to say I love all that I believed was possible here. It's taken a lot of time and effort to get my head around all the new terms, some coding, the awkwardness of the platform and simply how to be heard as a #minnow

Despite taking the time and even getting to know those in the #curation space - has it had any effect so far? Is there a return on effort?

No.

Unless you know a #whale or I can offer a pretty face and some really cool photos then I'm afraid our minnow effort will remain unheard. Unless I've missed the posts that give more guidance to how...

Are Steemit posts numbers game? Or simply, who you know game?

I mean, if I post tens of, or hundreds of blogs, then will my messages finally be heard? Will my messages ever get through? I am not confident they will.

Unless I seek to raise money for my project of passion (creating a Shared-help space and toolkit for those considered pre-suicidal) I'm not confident that my messages are being heard here at all and worth the time and effort I am putting in.

I am not interested in up votes or financial value - unless I am pushing for the above project, but I would love to see that my messages are being read.

Is this place more about income generation?

Despite learning what I can (I am a total non-techie) on curation, tags etc my words and messages are simply not being seen ... I don't care about earning an income from my posts. I do care about those who need real help to see words and messages that could actually shift and save their life!

So, frustration aside - how do you create readership if those you know curate "valuable content" don't even read or support you?

Is it all about the #upvote and #cryto value creation of #SBD here and your own back-pocket here?

No money in the world, crypto, GBP, $ or even pigs will save the lives of those suffering if they can't hear the words they need to hear to shift their mental state.

Today, I'm sad to announce that LinkedIn and FaceBook win ... today my messages were heard on those money making platforms but not on Steemit :-(

And yet I still wonder ...

... will anyone even read this to post to answer, guide or help anyway ... it appears to this minnow the only words read that I've created are the ones I write to respond on others posts, where I am respectful enough not to hijack to their post my then add any of my original content but compliment them on their own.

Even more amazing than the level of in site curation and support in the steemit community is the fact that any original content that has been read (with exception to my #introduceyourself post) has been self generated using Instagram and other traditional social media (money making) platforms.

How can that be?

#frustration #disillusion #purpose #steemit #minnow #socialmedia

tin-man-1176557_1920.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @zoedj, that's a very well written post and I totally feel your pain, as do many others. I am not an expert by any means, but I'll make a few suggestions, maybe you are already doing them:

  1. search "suicide" and other related terms in the search bar. Engage the people and posts within those specific tags and build relationships

  2. post your articles in different tags. Check the explore tab in the drop down menu and see what is getting the most usage. If its relevant, try the new tag!

  3. Send small payments of SBD (.01 or something like that) directly to whales with the link to your post and some comments about what you are trying to do. I've never done this, but seen it.

Speaking candidly, I normally wouldn't respond to this article either, but it caught my attention and I think what you are trying to do is SUPER important.

Ultimately, many people here are on Steemit to profit and Facebook, Twitter, and other Social Media channels may end up being your best bet unfortunately.

...I'm blogging about my dog and his surgery recovery and I am having the same obstacles, and it isn't nearly as important as your topic, so I feel for you!

Hope this helps, best of luck!!! Followed & Resteemed!

Hey @geoffreydemars what an incredible and helpful response, thank you! Even an audience of one is so valuable in my area.

I really value the tips you have given and also your shared insight, it truly helps -thank you!

I hope we're wrong and the likes of Facebook, Twitter and other channels do not continue to win.

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment so thoroughly. May I also wish your dog a speedy recovery.

Kindest thanks, DJ

The thanks are with you ☺️

Hey Doc, I realized that I hadn't check in on you in quite some time so I thought I better live up to my word and give you a visit. I'm no doctor but I sense a little frustration in this post.
I diverted from this post for a few minutes to read your post about the shared tool kit. Yes, 10 views in 15 hours can surely be a big disappointment on that post. One thing I found interesting was that you failed to put a tag for "psychology" on that post. When I go fishing I cast my bait into a body of water that I would expect fish to be in, I don't cast it out in the middle of the pasture with the cows.
I will tell you that you are a rare breed on here from what I have seen, by that I mean, you are the only doctor I have run across on here. I have met a couple dentists, but other than that, your it. I looked at the lists of tags and surprisingly there isn't a tag for medicine or doctors or self help.
Psychology looks like the only tag that even comes close for that post and it isn't on it. You might want to switch out one of the other tags and see if that might help your post a little bit.
I think your idea has merit, but the majority of people on here are probably not in any position to offer any suggestions or help in that arena. I know I'm surely not.
Have you joined up with any groups on here yet or have you entered any writing contests ? Those are great ways to get to meet people and attract some followers.
If memory serves me correctly those were some of the suggestions I offered you when I first engaged with you on your intro post, if I didn't I should have because that is what I normally tell all the new folks I meet here.
I will try to keep a closer eye on you, so I'm clicking the follow button on you now. I will also re-steem that post, I don't have a big following by any means but there may one or two people who might give it a look.
There is a women's group on here that really gets behind each other you might want to look at my friend @thekittygirl is a member of it teamgirlpower or something like that, just check one of her posts, she always has a link on her's for it, and go visit them.
Keep in touch, the eyes of Texas are upon you now.

Hi @sultnpapper I really value you checking in. Yes I did follow your advice & have played around with the #tags to create a reach ... it’s all trial & error. Interestingly though this frustration has found some great ideas, worthy communities & some great guidance such as yours - so thank you.

As I care more about readership than #upvotes I am always appreciative of guidance from those who know far more than I do ... my best results as I’ve commented above is more my citation of valuable content & replies with the post authors.

I never thought this would be easy; I want it to be worth it and drawing in readers from traditional social media as I am doing makes little sense in the long run as I am better maintaining that direction through my website as previously done.

I’ll keep going & please do keep giving your expert advice. I will take a look now at @thekittygirl thank you, DJ

Whoa, young lady. I am no expert by any means. I just try and look at things with an unbiased eye and try and offer up suggestions that seem to make sense. I am no way an expert on steemit or any social media that is for sure and certain. There are plenty of experts though, we just need to work our way through and get you hooked up with the right ones.
@thekittygirl can also tell you about PYPT, which stands for "pimp your post Thursday " where you can live chat in discord with a group about your posts. I have only listened in a couple times but it seemed like a neat concept, the timing just doesn't work well with my schedule.
We'll just keep plugging along. I will say that it does make sense in the long run to bring readers from your traditional social media, they may in fact find that they can use this platform to grow what they are doing and help strengthen this one, not everyone can earn on FB or YouTube, they
can over here. So while it may not help you directly, you would be helping your readers by showing them an opportunity.

Curation is the lifeblood of the STEEM ecosystem. It can sometimes seem thankless, never-ending, without reward. Every Steemian who has more than a couple of cents worth of upvote has gone through the same thing. It's not linked in, nor is it Facebook. And earning serious rewards takes time, the biggest one being that you have to grow your community.

A few tips:
Get into the discord channels. Join some groups there, make a few friends and followers who are into the same things. Use the Looking for Niche bot to find people into similar things.

Remember, Steemit is still in beta. It's the earliest of early days yet. There are a lot of things wrong with this ecosystem at the moment, but the groundwork is all there for something huge. I'd encourage you to stay with it. Talk to me about how to get up there, you know I'll be happy to give you as much help as I can.

Thanks @anarcotech you speak in a language there that is a little advanced for a non-techie newbie like me but I appreciate the tips. I will research what some of those things mean & take appropriate action.

Right now more basic understanding of those newbies among us could do with disseminating through, fortunately I found quite a few great helpers & some great basics by simply trawling the system. I’m not convinced the spoon fed social media visitors who simply want a voice & not the financial return would persever the same, not when we’re (I) am relying on such platforms to be my readers.

I’m keen to see if curating valued content will work for readership sake more than upvotes or if a gamed system will win - time will tell.

Kindest DJ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47