Reasons for Steemit.com downtime

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This morning, I tried to open steemit.com with my coffee.

I’ve got 503 Error and decided to check what is happening.

Update - 12:15 UTC : The reason came out - https://beta.chainbb.com/steemit/@sneak/steemit-com-is-experiencing-a-ddos-attack

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/update-regarding-ddos-attack-on-steemit-com

https://steemit.com/ is working.

Meanwhile you could use https://beta.chainbb.com/ to access the Steem blockchain.

Busy.org was down too. I don’t know why. The full api nodes weren’t that stable (for me) for the last week or so. I don’t know why.

Update 11:52 UTC : https://busy.org/ and https://esteem.ws/ seems to work too ( thanks @rossenpavlov, @goodkarma).

@someguy123, @gandalf, @timcliff, @drakos, @jesta, what is happening? Why are the current full api nodes unstable? I was working on my projects and it is possible that I have missed the info.

BTW. There was this one guy, that was writing a post when steemit did go down. He didn’t save it anywhere. There was a small windows in which steemit was kind of up again, his post was save. He still didn’t do a backup, but clicked ‘post’.. and lost his posts.

Children, don’t use steemit.com as an text editor. Even if you could. Make backups and wait for the system to stabilize before posting 😊

In other news, expect a post from me soon with analysis of the computing resources needed to bootstrap and then run a node. I target a witness node, but maybe I’ll do the work for full node too.

Another thing that I am playing with is post promotion and poking the bots. I’ll have a post about that too 😊

TBD is my work on steemd blockchain exporter plugin ( as talked with @gandalf ) and bringing up some infrastructure and making some apps for dtube (as talked with @heimindanger)

P.S. here is how steemit.com looks now (thanks @bitcoinparadise)

Please comment 😊

Sort:  

busy.org is working

It isn't for me. Still, I'll update the post, thanks :)

Steemit still down. DSound frontpage doesn't load properly. DTube has similar issue. ChainBB won't let me post. Busy just started working again.

Looks to me like the interdependence (hopefully not inherent to steem) is still too high between many of these sites. This is a huge weakness in the network.

We really need to consider that these sort of attack/malfunctionings could become ever more common in the future. There has to be a plan of action. Correction: A preplanned, automatic backup.

It's a matter of perspective, for sure. The network is "safe" enough not to break down entirely, from some knowledgable witness noder runners perspective. But will it be safen even from that perspective in the future? At some point this is going to get much worse.

And no matter if people think it's "safe" this way, these types of failures - because they are failures, no matter how we categorize them - alienate anyone who isn't a "beta tester", developer- or investor- user. This downtime is just as much experienced as "censorship" by the end user, as if they were faced with a block and forced to switch between Facebook, Twitter, Gab etc.

When Steem isn't available to the normal social media user, it's simply "not available".
-As if this wasn't enough of an issue. The SMTs could put even more pressure on the system.

Until this point of failure is fully adressed, we are not gonna have an easy time attracting users seeking a "decentralized" network.

Downvoted for spreading incorrect information.

I have updated the post.

RPC and Steem nodes are fine working as usual. You can use eSteem, Busy and Chainbb meanwhile.

I have some problems with Busy. Maybe the problem is mine. I haven't tried eSteem, Chainbb works best for me.

This post has received a -33.33 % downvote from @meanpeoplesuck thanks to: @blacklist-a.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45