DEATH TO VIDEO TUTORIALS!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

There was a time before video tutorials where everything was wonderful, and written in text. Now if I want to learn anything online I have to watch some video where someone is trying to win over my love, affection, and subscriptions. Fixing a car, great, cooking maybe, animating... I'll take a screenshot please.

It feels like such a waste of my time. I get it, it's faster to do a video, but surely there must be a way to reward your writing time, oh wait, STEEMIT! I want to type what I want to learn, for example "Best Way to Animate an Illustrator File," and then get some pictures and text instructing me how to do so. I don't care about who you are, I just want a nice easy to follow tutorial that I can SKIM, look quickly, do what I need,and give an up-vote. Let's get this tutorials section going, please and thank you.

THAT VIDEO IS 12 MINUTES! I can literally read, print, and post the image in less time than this video takes... I'm sure it's great but...

No, I don't want to buy a book, and I don't like the tiny side window some of these in program tutorials offer. I'm going to pull up the instructions on my mobile, and do it on my computer. I also want comments, because people sometimes people have the good suggestions. :) Or someone else will ask a question I am wondering like "Do I really need all these layers?" This GUI animation is taking me longer at this point than if I just coded myself.

This video only documentation revolution sucks... As a matter of fact, I read terrible documentation all the time. Like FL Studio, what is that. That's not a tutorial. I want my beats to sound PHAT like Mike Will Made It... No soundgoodizer isn't enough. GIVE ME SECRETS!

I'm just tired of trying to figure out creative ways to query google, to omit a bunch of 20 - 30 minute videos, where you used to be able to look at a blog post. Are we srsly regressing like this because we got this new technology, that now a 5 min skim is a 50 minute video? STOP SAYING THINGS I KNOW!

I get some people are video learners. I'm not. Give me the knowledge now.

Sort:  

Love it :)
I'll sometimes play YT vids at 2x speed just to get the slow-paced info at a more reasonable speed.

That is great suggestion!

I have the same problem - but I guess we are surrounded by musical / auditory / (video) learners :-)

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@steempowerwhale/i-am-steempowerwhale-and-i-am-here-to-upvote-your-lifetime-dreams

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65054.60
ETH 3558.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35