You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My friend signed up for Steemit last Thursday, and is still not approved... is this normal?

in #steemit7 years ago

It took about 10 days for my account to be approved. I think the delays in registrations have something to do with the fact that a lot of people were creating a lot of accounts trying to game the system. I'm not sure if that is the only reason tough.

Sort:  

Yeah, and probably bots too, which I understand, but they need to figure out a way to seek and destroy the bots and abusers after they sign up, not before... you know what I mean?

Steemit is no egalitarian utopia where all thrive and prosper bathed in intellectual enlightenment.
There are a few who make money, control the narrative and have all the incentives to maintain the status quo. The majority, spend an inordinate amount of time, some even effort, and hope that some day they too will be big.
If this interaction is enjoyable, then it’s a hobby, at best. Do it as long as it’s fun. As for those dreaming of making it a profession, please consider a brief risk reward ratio analysis, substituting time for risk. My guess is that most Steemians can make a hell of a lot more money flipping burgers.

Ha ha, I'd imagine that most Steemians could as well, and making this a full-time job certainly has its risks. Like speaking your mind one day, and some whale doesn't like what you have to say, and boom... this just fired you!

Hopeful Steemian:

How can they game the system?

You haven't been paying attention huh Demon?

Steemit is drowning in abusive accounts!

Well I guess I'm too much ingenious I guess.. I just don't get it how too many accounts can benefit one person I mean.. I struggle a lot with just one account.. I can't imagine trying to raise 10 accounts.. :/

There will always be cheaters, especially where money is involved mate.

Yes, and even tough it might seem like a lot of work to make a lot of accounts just to earn small amounts of money we also have to take into account that there is a big difference from making 100$ on steemit in the U.S.A. compared to making 100$ in India.

A very important point indeed, and don't forget about the inflated SBD factor either mate.

Yep. I wonder for how much time SBD will remain like this.

Only time will tell, but I ain't complaining in the meantime. 😉

I still believe that steemit is greater than those who cheat.. I trully believe in this system..

Well, let's say I can make 100 accounts in a day. I will use one account for posting garbage content and the rest of 99 to upvote said garbage content. Sure, the SP from those accounts is really small and the upvotes are barely worh 0.01$ but they add up. Just a thought, no idea how feasible this might be.

They put a little money in them, and then they do this my friend, but they automate the process via bots to speed up the gaming.

Now that makes sense... Finally.. I really am to ingenious.. well this people are killing this great thing like steemit..

Many things are not just right with the system.
From Bots to people purchasing SP and accumulating so much of it to a cliq waring another cliq, Infact a lot is going on that if not addressed could alter a lot in the system

It was always going to be an issue here on Steemit sadly, because all humans are innately greedy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69