Suggestion: Make RC Costs Thread AwaresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

NOTE: I wrote this post as a reply in a thread. But since starting threads costs the same amount as replies, I decided to make my reply a new root level post.

There is a resource credit section on SteemD. It says that comments cost 1.57 million RC. The actual cost varies. My experience is that they cost 2.5 million. I have 20 STEEM my "max mana" is 41.2 m . So, I can usually do two comments and 10 votes a day.

rcarea.png

Brand new users are delegated 15 SP.

I went and found a new account. It's max RC was 36,351,960,090.

The thing I dislike is that replies to a post cost the same amount as starting new threads. The smart strategy for a new user is to write posts, but never interact with people.

This is not a good design. A better design would be to have different charges for root posts and replies. The cost of replying should be a fifth of a root post. If a root post costs 1.5m; then a reply should be 0.3.

The problem with this simple design is that new users might take to spamming.

The ideal approach would be to make the system thread aware. So it would cost 1.5 RC to chime in on a new thread. But it would only cost 0.3 to continue a thread.

A thread aware design would mean that I could reply comments to this post at a relatively low cost. It also would mean that I could carry on a conversation with different users.

I will be coming to the end of my RC for the day soon. It is unlikely that I will reply to any comments to this post.

Making the resource credits thread aware would encourage new users to created deeper threads while discouraging spam.

Sort:  

I'm hosting a delegation contest on my blog. Feel free to apply
https://steemit.com/steempress/@simplymike/redfishrocketcontest3winadelegation-f8etvpas9p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00