5 Tips For Blogging on Steemit - Creating an impact

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This morning i'm writing from my bed, because hey it's Saturday. 

Here are my top 5 tips for creating content, engaging your followers and making your small level impact on steemit.

1. Who is following you?


If you don’t already know then check out the accounts of the people who follow you and what they are interested in. In most cases, people follow you because they are interested in something you offer. Of course, there are people who follow everyone for the sake of it and these are pretty easy to pick out, but knowing more about your genuine followers will give you a better indication of the kind of content they want to see.
 

2. Post genuine, interesting content

All of us have expertise or experience in something. Think about what that is and let people know. Take time to write your posts, put thought and creativity into them. They should be easy to read both visually and literally, so include plenty of images and text breaks.

You don't have to have all of your shit together to post inspirational content. All of us are a work-in-progress, just work out your interests, make your content is appealing and get posting.


image via Pintrest

Not every post needs to be thousands of words long - and try not to make them needlessly wordy. I post advice about business, food and travel, but also I share photos and enter into the photo contests on steemit because I enjoy it and it helps me find more creative people who share the same eye as me. Photography contests usually involve a single photo and caption. So long as you're thinking about your audience, length of post does't need to be standardised. For example with a photography post, people are really just looking for an image because of the tags you use.


If you’re anything like me then some days you just cannot write and you lack inspiration. On those days, don’t just churn out content for the sake of trying to make some cash. If you can’t create then take a break. 

See steemit as a long-haul process and try to make each post count in terms of it's value to your readers. The same  goes for resteeming - resteeming is great, but don’t over resteem and allow your content to get lost.
 

*side note - i've seen a lot of negative rant-posts about steemit and people on steemit which provide no solutions. I'm personally trying to keep my posts as positive and informative as possible.

Sharing your knowledge on subjects you know about will no doubt inspire and motivate the like-minded people in your community, which leads me on to my next point.

3. Build your own community 

Steemit is one community, but within that try and build out your own community. If you want to grow on steemit you will need to surround yourself with like minded people - just as with any other social platform. It’s no good having lots of followers and following lots of people if you don’t like what each other are contributing.

I spend time every day commenting on posts from people who have inspired or motivated me in some way. 

You can see that I have already made 773 comments in 18 days.

I suggest you spend some time to do the same. Don't just wait around hoping people will find your posts, actively search and comment on things that you appreciate.
Grab a coffee, take some time out and make some comments.

4. Make your small level impact


Steemit is still new, so there aren’t popular categories for everything yet, which sometimes makes it difficult to find content you connect with. Do what you can to help you define your community. I’m currently living in Malaysia, so whilst i’m here I want to contribute to the #teammalaysia community. I’ll be organising a meet-up soon to connect on a more personal level.

I also created the #sbo hashtag for Small Business Owners to use when they need advice or have some advice to share. It’s not flying just yet, but these things take time. You can read about the use for this hashtag in this video

5. Take time to find content

Sometimes you might spend hours writing a post and it doesn’t get the response you want it to.  This is for a number of reasons, but the main one is visability. If you’re not trending people can’t find you because it’s time consuming to go through pages and pages of trending posts which aren’t interesting for you, just to find something to read. It’s a circle. I would advise clicking on ‘new’ rather than ‘trending’ so you can see the freshest content within a particular category. Then you can decide for yourself what you think is worth commenting on.

Also think about the tags you use on each of your posts. Those tags are precious and will help others to find you.

Hope this helps!

I’m pretty new to steemit and there are people who definitely have more experience with this platform than I do.  
If there’s anything you would like to add, please let me know what you think in the comments below.

*photos are all mine unless otherwise stated.

Just remember if you have interesting content to share with Small Business Owners, or you are a Small Business Owner looking for support and motivation, then use the #sbo to connect with like-minded people!


Yasmine

Sort:  

Excellent tips. I am also trying to create a small community of people who are trying to spread positivity here. Do check out this tag #positivechallenge

Awesome!!! Good for you. I will check it out for sure!

good compilation of tips which are to be strictly followed

Thanks for your comment. I appreciate it!

Thank you for all the tips are really helpful...I will definitely try to follow

Love your tips. And agree with the "If you can’t create then take a break" which is the beauty of being your own boss and working from home. Makes things so much more efficient. No point in sitting in front of your screen if the words are not going to come.

Yes exactly. Glad you feel the same, Amy. I honestly love you recipes. Please keep them coming! :-)

Aww thanks gorgeous. If you are ever in Cambodia, consider yourself invited ;)

this is good stuff @yasminep It's really important to know your followers and why they follow you.

I am a marketer I talk MARKETING & ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Follow Me I promise I won't waste your time

Great! Glad you liked it. :-)

yea, I sure did ma, I think we have a lot in common, i want us to talk more are you on discord or steemit chat?

If you don’t already know then check out the accounts of the people who follow you

I really wish there was an easier way to see posts from people that follow you. Like, my newsfeed is the news feed for people I follow, but I'd love to see the same for people that follow me... without going and following them all back.

Particularly if I could "hide" followers in that feed who clearly are just following me for the sake of it, so that I could more easily spot people that are posting on similar topics to me

That would be absolutely awesome! You should speak to the developers about getting a dual feed going somehow. That would also separate steemit entirely from any other social media channel!

Everybody and my dog hasn ideas for how to make Steemit better. Fortunately, you can do your own spinoff sites using what’s already in the blockchain :)

When you get upvotes, you should get a treat for being a good boy!! Preferably bones... yes, I think bones would be best.

that's a sweet piece of content, thank you. Adding value into system is the key. When you create some valuable content for the others you're only one person away from success on steemit. Just try to create some value, solve some problems etc... Maybe your follower count will rise slowly but those people will be real people. You need only 100 real true fans to moon :)

So you already meet each other. Good ahah

Totally agree! Thank you for taking the time to comment on this. :-) I'll check out your account!

i'll keep eye on yours too

nice article, and no. 3 really catch my eyes..thanks for reminding @yasminep

Thanks! I'm glad it could be of use!

All are the major points & creating a tag for a small business owner is the prove creating own community in the steemit!!Great!!

Thanks so much! :-)

A debt of gratitude is in order for this data. This will help me without a doubt.

I hope it will! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62058.88
ETH 3419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48