You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smaller accounts should get the voting slide bar too!

in #steemit7 years ago

WOW! I didn't know that eSteem doesn't come under this restriction 😇. How come? And why this bias?🤔 It's already unfair with minnows 'coz of discriminating them from the ones who has got higher SP by providing them a versatile voting-weight controller. Now this another discrimination on the basis of interface 🙄 🤔!!! Are we minnows being discouraged to use desktops? I dunno what to say or expect here!🙆


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Sort:  

Steemit and eSteem are independent interfaces developed by different developers for the same blockchaing which is kind of the database they both run on and interact with including recording all transactions. The limit with the slider is something that seems to have been coded into the Steemit as an interface, but is not a restriction on the blockchain level and the eSteem developers have not included such a restriction in their app. The difference doesn't come to intentionally encourage or discourage anything, it's just that the developers have made different decisions about the interfaces they have decided to build.

There actually might be other web interfaces available that don't come with this restriction, but I personally don't know about them and as Steemit is the most popular one, I would much rather they decide to remedy the situation instead of me or us trying to find a less popular alternative that might come with other caveats. But that's an option I'm still willing to evaluate, I guess I have to look into it.

WOW! This is a lot of information to digest for me. So there are plenty of interfaces with different rules set by their developers! Is Busy too one of them? I see the same posts there too.

I came across one article from a witness which says that minnows can still vote 40 times a day:
https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@timcliff/minnow-voting-it-is-still-ok-to-vote-40-times-a-day

What's your take on this? I'd appreciate your views on @timcliff's analysis.

Oh, that's a great shoutout! It actually makes sense. We can basically drain our voting power to 25% and then act as if the slider was there set at that percentage. The math seems to add up.

Of course, I still think that not giving every account access to the feature is not the best way to encourage people and to make people feel welcome on the platform, but it seems to be less of a big deal now when you pointed out this post.

Btw, it's really different rules between the interfaces and more like different features. The voting slider is a feature, not a rule. The rules that govern the actual blockchain are the same on each interface. But yeah, having multiple interfaces is kind of weird. But it also encourages freedom, innovation and lack of censorship.

True, a slider would be very helpful in allocating the vote weight as per our own judgement of the merits of the post. Without a slider, we have to treat all our voting at par. We can't differentiate a 5 star content with 1 or 3 stars. And that's very sad. 😢 By any chance do you know of a slider for minnows in any other interface? It may come in handy at times.

When our votes are worth a cent or two, a change in the percentage would be such a big deal, so I think I'm OK with that, I just didn't want to run my voting power into the ground, but now that I realize I can't, I don't mind that much.

I'm sorry but the only interface I know about that has a slider for minnows is the eSteam app. I think they have a desktop application too, you can take a look through the posts by @good-karma and check for info on that.

Had checked up the eSteem site a few days back but didn't find any desktop version yet. So the better strategy to get the slider would be to work persistently here for a few more months and earn the required vests for the sliding scale 😊 Until then ...click, click click ...no sliding 😉

Yep, being active is surely more important than the slider itself :P

I dug out the post about the desktop app, I don't know what's the status of if the packages still work, but here it is! I personally haven't tried it and I don't think I will as it might have been abandoned and I'd rather be using the most popular interface.

Thank you for all your efforts to dig out this old link. However I haven't downloaded it yet but asked @good-karma for the latest version of it.
Let's see where do I get finally. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43