The Steemit Spirit: building a better world

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In my introduce yourself post in Steemit, I defined myself as Cryptobeliever. I´m sure the cryptocurrencies are here to stay, and the more I read about projects involving blockchain technology, the more convinced I am that we are facing a change of age, similar to the digital vs analogic society.

However, after a few weeks on this platform, something has caught my attention. It´s what I call "The Steemit Spirit".

While everything around cryptocurrencies is related to speculation and easy money, at Steemit I have found many people and projects supporting others and not only focused in their profit.

Capitalist society is selfish. Making as much money as possible is the main goal of any company, and how their actions will impact our planet and the people living in it, most of the times, irrelevant.

What is the Steemit spirit?

In Steemit I have found a different mindset.

Yes, I know. There are many people who arrive here only to make money and don´t care about anything else, of course, but many others have a much more altruistic approach.

I´ve seen lots of initiatives to support "minnows”, and many notable members of the community offering their financial help to projects, and this kind of behaviour generates an environment of mutual help not only stimulating, yet contagious.

Contagious, yes.

My first contact with Steemit, and the subsequent desire to join this community was driven by a selfish economic desire. But now, once I can see how others interact, my attitude has started to change.

I still want to make money to achieve my personal goals. But now I have something else in mind.

If someday Steemit becomes my main source of income and allows me to earn a good amount, it will be fair to give something in return to the community.

Getting success on the Steemit platform is not possible without the help of others. Even if you use bots to increase your income, those bots have been created by someone, who put his intellectual effort at your service.

And what about whales supporting projects and helping others to grow? Do they really need to do it?

The Steemit spirit could be explained as the desire to give without expecting anything in return. And that can be applied at any scale.

You don´t need to be a whale and delegate SP to support a charity project. Simply put any skill you have to the service of others. Doing this, the Steemit community can change the world.

Probably you remember the movie "Pay it forward"

In this film a kid proposes a plan, doing a favor to three different people, and the recipients, rather than paying the favor back will do the same with three different people. This way, a chain of kindness would be generated, spreading worldwide and reaching at some point the entire population.

What if we could spread the Steemit spirit same way?

What would happen if...?

Imagine if each Steemit member could offer a specific skill and put it at the service of the community. We would all become rich!. Thousands and thousands of people offering their help selflessly means the whole Steemit community could access to a world of unimaginable opportunities.

Maybe it's a naive point of view, I know. But there are already people acting this way..

The most remarkable cases are people who financially support third-party projects. Whales like @jerrybanfield, who manage accounts like @budgets to support projects are the visible part of the iceberg. Their contribution have a big impact.

But you don´t have to be a whale to practice the Steemit spirit. Right now there are countless projects dedicated to promoting minnows carried out by people with little voting power. They only want to help, even if their actions are not acclaimed by the community.

Individual initiatives are important, as well. People such @transcript-junky, who offers a proofreading service to texts translated in English, in order to have greater impact, are giving their time and skills for free, without expecting to receive any kind of reward.

Anyone, at any scale, being a whale or a minnow, can help spreading the "Steemit Spirit".

Source

Lead by example

Just as a journey begin with a small step, great changes begin with small actions. I know it´s quite difficult this post has enough impact for the entire Steemit community to become aware of its content, but I can start by myself.

What can I do to spread the Steemit Spirit?

My mother tongue is Spanish, and I like to graphic editors,so I can put both skills at the service of the community.

Do you write your posts in English and want to reach a greater audience? I can help you translating them. That way, you can reach the Spanish-speaking community with no extra effort. Give me the URL of your post, let me know how i can contact you and as far as my availability is concerned, I will translate your post as soon as possible.

Do you need to make your images more attractive to get more readers? Check the covers of my posts and if you want something similar, just let me know.

I know it's not a big deal, but it's what I can do right now. If everyone do something similar, Steemit will be a much better community soon.

It's all about attitude.

Source

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @xuancar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04